We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Clarion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Beachfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved the Clarion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We had a wonderful two day stay at the Clarion. We requested two top floor rooms with a water view and were not disappointed. We were AMAZED at the price we paid for the view we had! Our rooms were very clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was great, everything was fresh and hot! The breakfast area was a little crowded but we managed to find a table for four both mornings. We were disappointed that the pool was in a separate building and you had to walk outside to get there (we were there in September and the temps were in the 50's and 60's) so we didn't use the pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    109
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
153
104
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel is right off the water of Lake Huron with a great view of the Mackinac Bridge and Mackinac Island. The furnishings were brand new, a well-thought out design affording space and privacy. The complimentary breakfast was super with a wide selection and a huge seating area. The pool, washer/dryer, exercise area was excellent as well. A nice, easy walk to all the shops and restaurants of Mackinaw City. We would definitely suggest this hotel to friends; in fact, a friend suggested it to us. We were delighted!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, ky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the Clarion four nights. The price was excellent. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable about the area. The room was very nice, clean. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. Mackinaw City is a good location for lots of area attractions. The hotel was within walking distance of one of the ferries to Mackinac Island. We really enjoyed the breakfast bar each morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I only stay ar Marriott or Choice (Comfort, Clarion, etc). Never have I had a problem with a Comfort inn or Suties or any "choice hotel" till now. 1. No wifi anywhere unless you go to the buisness center. 2. I reserved a king and we got 2 regular size beds which destroyed my trip right then and there. 3. The TV is very small and on the far wall. Also it is a flat screen but the picture did not fit on the screen so words were missing. 4. No towels two days in a row and a dirty sock under the bed. The manager never responded to my requests for help or assistance and the girl at the desk just smiled and stared at us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We paid for two nights and went out during the day after the first night. They assumed we had checked out a day early and gave our room away. When we arrived back at night the staff never apologised. Tehy said it was our fault for not leaving any luggage. They refused to give us a refund so we wound up spending another night in this hotel of idiocy (rather than drag three small children around on Labor Day weekend at 11:30pm). The hotel manager also did not apologize. Avoid this place at all costs!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc MI
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

I came here with the recommendation from a previous reviewer and agree that this hotel is nice.
A few things to know:
This establishment has several buildings with multiple levels. The beachfront property has four, which was what I stayed on, and others have three. The doors slam shut which gets annoying when children keep running in and out. With the design of the door, there is no way to prevent this from happening, even if you want to be quiet. My room had many spiders inside and outside on the balcony.

We had difficulty finding a parking place. This was during the Labor Day weekend, but after reading a previous posting on keeping the car in the parking lot; if the hotel is busy, plan on not getting a spot near your room. It was pouring rain so we were all soaked! (Tropical Storm Earl Effects?)

Careful attention was placed on having enough towels, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, pillows, storage space, and comfort. My television was not a flat screen LCD, but we hardly turned it on. The same was reported from two other family members who each stayed on the first floor in a Jacuzzi suite.

My parents said room 126’s bed sloped on the edge of one side. We all went to see (7) of us, and sure enough, the side looks like it has given out over the years. My step dad has had back surgery which was a big deal for him to have a bed without issues. I urge my parents to join trip advisor and post their experience. I do know that they were given a room with a bed, but another Jacuzzi room was unavailable.

I would stay here again, and I would also stay at others in this city as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Nice and comforatable rooms, including a whirlpool which was really hugh! Breakfast was included. Direct beach access with a campfire in the evening. Friendly staff! We could even park our car there while we were on the island for one night. Received a discount for the ferry and you also get discouts in many restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Address: 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.