We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation-Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Beachfront to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Omro, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation-Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel Beachfront for two nights and had a great time! The hotel was great from the staff, the room, and the breakfast. The staff was excellent-although the men at check-in and check-out were friendlier-seemed the women weren't as friendly. Check-in was smooth even though we were early and the room wasn't ready (my fault-not theirs) and check-out was very smooth. The room was ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL and woke up each morning to beautiful sunrise. There were six of us in the suite and all were pleased with the room. The breakfast was good-no complaints-there was plenty to eat and it was good. I really don't know what the complaints are about the breakfast-if you want a sit down/wait on me type breakfast then go to a restaurant and PAY FOR YOUR BREAKFAST!! This is a breakfast that was included with your stay! We had ages from 8-78 and all were pleased with the breakfast and did not walk away hungry. The kids loved the waterpark that was included and they spent some time in the pool at the hotel also. We will be back again and as my grandkids asked as we were leaving "can we come back again next year grandma?".

Room Tip: We were on the third floor facing the water-it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    127
    85
    43
    23
See reviews for
180
121
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family and I arrived exhausted from a long drive and were greeted with overwhelming kindness and generosity by the Clarion Hotel's staff. They bent over backwards to accommodate a broken foot, spent precious time giving us good recommendations and made us feel welcome. The views from our room were amazing, and the waterpark tickets were a hit with the kids. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The lakefront rooms are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Average rooms that need updating. Staff was not friendly or welcoming. Beach is decent to watch the ferry boats. Breakfeast was average but free. Felt the room was worth much Less than what I paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After reading online about recent remodeling we were anxious to stay at the Clarion. We were quickly disappointed with the poor cleanliness of the desk top and the carpet has not been vacuumed. Many of the towels were either stained or not well laundered. The Internet WiFi did not work except in lobby. Desk staff indicated it often did not work in some rooms. The desk staff was not too customer friendly. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were looking for a nice clean hotel at a good price that was close to the campground our son and his family were staying at. The Clarion had a great rate and the reviews were good. When I called to book the room, I was quoted a much higher price but when I mentioned the on line price, I was immediately given that. We did not need a room facing the lake or the bridge as we would be spending most our time at the campground or sight seeing. Our first floor room near the office was perfect! We were pleasantly surprised that we even had a fridge. The breakfast bar was great and the pool was clean. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a beach front room... the first floor rooms behind the office are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel was very clean. It was also one of the few hotels that had a beach that reached to the water, most others nearby were grass areas and had swampy area. The lakefront rooms were wonderful and very spacious. They had a balcony to enjoy the gorgeous waterfront. In walking distance from the city, will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms are quiet and very pretty to lookout with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Furniture was broken and damaged. So much dust under the dresser and on headboard post. Was supposed to be a non smoking room and we found an empty cig. pack on balcony. Wallpaper peeling off bathroom walls. Pull out sofa sleeper stunk so bad of bodily fluids we couldnt sleep in it. Lobby stunk badly of smoke. Towels and washcloths were very discolored and had a bad odor to them. We travel a lot and have stayed in Clarions before.....this is by far the worst hotel we have come across. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Address: 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.