We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Beachfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here just overnight before going to the island for a weekend, and it suited our needs perfectly. While slightly outdated, the rooms are a nice size and quite clean. Because you're on the end of the street, even the side of the hotel facing the road isn't too noisy. The beach is kept clean and chairs are provided for guests. The free breakfast in the morning was also slightly better quality than other hotels I've stayed at.

Room Tip: The beachfront is beautiful, but the street view is also quiet and slightly cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    124
    83
    42
    22
See reviews for
175
118
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Clarion Beachfront on our way to Mackinac Island. Nice rooms, large and comfortable. Efficient check in and helpful front desk help! My daughter left her beloved blankie there. The staff tracked it down and is mailing it back to New Jersey for us. They went above and beyond for us! We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel rooms were very large with plenty of beds which is nice for a family of 5. However the rooms are older. The breakfast was the worst part of the stay. Offerings were very limited and food area was crowded. Did not use pool on premises, but took advantage of waterpark down the street. Family did enjoy the water park. The beach front was nice. The view of Mackinac bridge and island were barely visible from our room. The town is nearby but a long walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The room was clean and quite. The view was wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and a lot of it. Breakfast room was large. Will stay here again.
The view from 4th floor is great. Didnot use the pool but it looked really nice. Parking was good and not too far from town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our room was near the office on the second floor. Housekeeping had left some used towels on the bathroom floor from the previous guest. The room was very cramped we just didn't feel it was clean. The next morning after we woke up, we found a water bug in the bathroom.

The front desk clerk did her job, but was not exactly Ms. Friendly. She seemed more concerned not to break one of her inch-long fingernails on the keyboard. The hotel's free internet had problems. It was slow, and I I kept getting a message on my laptop that another computer on the network had the same TCP/IP address as my computer, so I started using my Verizon MiFi wireless access point. I also needed to print a reservation, so I went to the hotel's "business center", where they had two workstations connected to a printer. One workstation was being used by one of the hotel desk clerks, and I could not successfully connect to any websites from the IE or FireFox browsers installed on the other workstation.

The room interior was humorous but sad. They had a flat-screen TV which is really expected nowadays, there was a humongous dresser that took up too much space. And the electical outlets.... where are they? The outlet(s) for the nightstand were hidden behind the beds. One outlet on the opposite wall was taken by a lamp and the college dorm refrigerator. I had to break out my outlet multiplexor to gain enough outlets to charge our devices. All of these are just indications of a 30-year old hotel that has an overdue need for a makeover and renovation.

The breakfast was underwhelming. It was pouring down rain during breakfast. While that is certainly not the hotel's fault, we had to run across the parking lot in the rain to get to the cavernous 2nd floor meeting room that also served as a breakfast room. Bland eggs, bland sausage, shot-glass sized coffee cups, etc...

We survived, and we have stayed in hotels and motels in the past much worse than this Clarion. I guess I had thought that Clarion was a more upscale brand in the Choice Hotel's line-up, so my expectations were higher. I would classify this Clarion property to me more in line with a "Super 8" or "Best Value" motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful stay at a great hotel! The rooms are clean and fresh with fabulous TV's. Our room had a balcony which included 2 chairs and a small end table. There is free internet (some reviews stated that there was not). The free breakfast is large and in a big room. Depending on what part of the hotel you stay in, you may have to walk outside of your building to get to the breakfast room but that is only because the complex is so large. The pool is also in its own building but it is central to all of the hotel buildings. The beach is great and includes lounge chairs. We were extremely happy with this hotel and would choose to stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ho-hum place with the wost internet. Stayed in a island- view, which was nice, except the bugs were so bad, we could not go outside. Gazillions of them, everywhere. Not the motel's fault but the place was generally a bid shoddy.
Great bed and standard issue "hot" breakfast...

it was cheaper than staying on the island

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Address: 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.