We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real nice hotel overlooking Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Beachfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Nokomis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real nice hotel overlooking Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We really love this hotel, we had a nice deck over looking the lake and two of the ferry lines. We were almost next door to the bike trail heading south. Very close to everything and a nice place to eat across street. A nice anniversary treat and great color tour. They have a large breakfest buffet.

Room Tip: We asked for upper room overlooking lake, the room is extra nice with high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    115
    79
    36
    21
See reviews for
162
109
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the second time this past summer. (August, 2012) Both times we've stayed here have been very pleasant. The hotel has free parking, free breakfast, and guests have access to 3 different indoor water parks, which my kids really enjoyed. Check in was quick and easy. We were given discounts to local restaurants and activities. The staff was not overly friendly, but they were polite and answered any questions I had. The rooms were clean and spacious.

We booked a room with a balcony view of the beach, and it was well worth the small price increase. The kids loved going down to the beach and playing in the water. At night, there was a group of hotel guests out on the beach making good use of the bonfire pits. Our room had two beds and a sofa sleeper which worked well for our family of two adults and four kids.

The pool is indoors and just very basic. The kids used it one night for a few minutes, but really preferred to be in the water park or down at the beach. There is a free breakfast. It's basic hotel food, but it's free and is a nice way to start the day, as well as a decent savings for large families.

I would recommend this hotel to those staying in the Mackinaw area, and we will definitely be back the next time we are in town. Thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: We booked a room with a balcony over looking the beach. It wasn't that much more than the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend spent in one of the hotel's jacuzzi rooms. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I very much appreciated the information provided at the hotel including coupons and suggestions. The room was much larger than anticipated and loved the jacuzzi tub in the suite. The only downside was all of the stairs we had to climb (4 flights) in order to get to our room. Also the hotel is laid out more like a motel (all exterior doors) it was quite a ways to the breakfast area which was on the 2nd floor across the parking lot in another area of the hotel/motel. Thank goodness for the waffles and bagels (they were good) but the eggs and biscuits and gravy were probably some of the worst we've ever had anywhere. Needless to say we went out for breakfast to a great place in town on day 2. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, but had a couple of notable drawbacks. Still loved the city and the island. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Request main floor unless you're interested in climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were very pleased with our recent stay here. Upon arrival, the front desk staff was very courteous and informative. Our room was on the top floor on the beach side with a balcony. It was a beautiful room and we were pleasantly surprised to have a vaulted ceiling which made the room seem even bigger. It was the perfect size for our family of 6. It was very clean. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff behind the counter were joyful and positive. In fact, all the staff we encountered had wonderful attitudes and were fantastic. We had a blast at the pool and hot tub. The first night the pool was amazing, it felt like bath water. The beach was wonderful. It was a bit too cool for us to use it this trip, but if it were warmer, I'm sure we would have sat out there and watched the kids play in the sand and swim. We were extremely pleased with our stay at this hotel and would very likely stay there again when/if we return to Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were pleasantly pleased by this hotel's first impression with respect to location (right on the lake shore) and appearance as we pulled into the check-in lane. Then the check-in crew was extremely friendly and helpful. Finally, we were surprised to find we had been upgraded to a beautiful two-room suite for apparently no reason at all. Needless to say we were bowled over by this positive experience. But most importantly, the rooms were clean and the complimentary breakfast was robust. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We reserved a room through Choice Hotels 800 number for the Clarion Beachfront with the understanding it was a beachfront room with balcony. After we checked in and got into our room it was apparent that it was not a beachfront room and no balcony. We went back to the front desk and explained the situation. Fortunately is was mid-week in October, and the staff helping us indicated that mix-ups did happen sometimes with the reservation system and gave us another room overlooking Lake Huron. The room was very nice, clean and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Comfort Inn, Hamilton Inn and the Ramada Inn in Mackinaw City. The staff at the Clarion are the BEST! Understanding and they want your stay to be pleasant, unlike the Ramada Inn. When we arrived at the Ramada Inn to find the room that we had reserved was already occupied, we said we would stay one night (had reserved 4 nights). Called the Clarion and spoke with Dave. He reserved a room for us and was very understanding of our situation. The room we had at the Clarion was the best room we've had in Mackinaw City. The view of the Bridge and the Grand Hotel was fantastic! The breakfast area was spacious and the food was better than the previous mentioned motels. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Address: 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.