We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Beachfront to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Knob Noster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were pleasantly pleased by this hotel's first impression with respect to location (right on the lake shore) and appearance as we pulled into the check-in lane. Then the check-in crew was extremely friendly and helpful. Finally, we were surprised to find we had been upgraded to a beautiful two-room suite for apparently no reason at all. Needless to say we were bowled over by this positive experience. But most importantly, the rooms were clean and the complimentary breakfast was robust. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    127
    85
    43
    23
See reviews for
180
121
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We reserved a room through Choice Hotels 800 number for the Clarion Beachfront with the understanding it was a beachfront room with balcony. After we checked in and got into our room it was apparent that it was not a beachfront room and no balcony. We went back to the front desk and explained the situation. Fortunately is was mid-week in October, and the staff helping us indicated that mix-ups did happen sometimes with the reservation system and gave us another room overlooking Lake Huron. The room was very nice, clean and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Comfort Inn, Hamilton Inn and the Ramada Inn in Mackinaw City. The staff at the Clarion are the BEST! Understanding and they want your stay to be pleasant, unlike the Ramada Inn. When we arrived at the Ramada Inn to find the room that we had reserved was already occupied, we said we would stay one night (had reserved 4 nights). Called the Clarion and spoke with Dave. He reserved a room for us and was very understanding of our situation. The room we had at the Clarion was the best room we've had in Mackinaw City. The view of the Bridge and the Grand Hotel was fantastic! The breakfast area was spacious and the food was better than the previous mentioned motels. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I went around 3:30 to see if I could check in early. They checked me in but said my room wouldn't be ready till about 4:30. So I went and did some shopping while I waited got back around 5 just to be safe. Got my room keys and headed to my room. The room was big and very well cleaned. Bathroom was on the small size but the jacuzzi tub made up for that. The only bad parts about my stay were that I'm on the short size so climbing out of the jacuzzi tub was a bit of a challenge and the bed was not very comfy and I didn't go to break fast because of the location of the room. Other than those minor things I really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

PROS: Newer sheets, comfortable bed and firm pillows. Clean room. Plentiful breakfast with lots of seating. Large flat screen TV in rooms. Check-out was quick.
CONS: Pool and whilrpool was enclosed, but you have to walk across the parking lot, and in cold weather it is not comfortable. Noise from rooms on either side of us, as well as footsteps in room above us. People were slamming their doors. All rooms have exterior doors. Pet policy not enforced. Breakfast room was on second floor, and very cool temperature inside, with a VERY small flat screen TV in an enormous room. Check-in was slow. No TV channel line-up card provided, and took us quite some time to find there was HBO, as no schedule was left on the first night. There was shiny black tile in the bathroom (a cramped area with a toilet and shower) and where the sink was. Very slippery and someday a possible lawsuit with a slip & fall could occur.
COMMENTS:We would stay there again only in a pinch. We feel the cons outweigh the pros at this hotel. We feel the difference in a Friday rate ($66) and a Saturday rate ($94) is not worth it as we could not use the pool because of the cold, and the HBO problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked 2Queen bed with lakefront balcony. Super clean, beds are comfortable. Great view of the water. Substantial hot breakfast. This is the best place to stay before and after your trip to the island!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a lakefront balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Booked this hotel in an offer and is fairly pleased with the visit. I got a 2 queen bed room for 2 nights at a very cheap rate. I was really worried about the hotel as the price I got was very less so I was not expecting a very good service and amenities. However check-in was fast, and they gave me room within a few minutes even after I came quite earlier than the check in time. The room was spacious, clean and had all amenities. It had a large nice TV, Fridge etc.The location is also good only 2 minutes drive from central avenue and the Shepler's ferry.The hotel had a nice private beach which I liked the most. Overall nice experience, will go again if I get a chance.

Room Tip: Room close to the beach are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Address: 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.