We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sucks, sucks, sucks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   712 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sucks, sucks, sucks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Checked into cabin at 10:30 PM. The heater in the room was not working. Outside temp was 31. Called front desk and they sent someone who fiddled with the controls and said it would take about 20 minutes to warm up. Half an hour later it was still not blowing warm air. Was finally moved to another cabin. The heater works but it was not turned on and took a very long time to warm up the cabin. Worst place I've stayed in a very long time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    18
    19
    64
See reviews for
51
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ANNA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were there in July, 2012. The photos of the cabins found in the AAA book really looked nice, so we made our reservations through the Mackinaw City website online. We stayed 3 nights in a very small, one room cabin that was hidden behind the "nice" looking ones in the photo. It looked horrible from the outside, and on the inside, there was hardly room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was large, but no soap dishes, towel or grab bars in the shower (no tub). I had to use an upside down wastebasket for soap, shampoo, etc. My husband was afraid to get into the shower. There were no comfortable chairs to sit on. There was no closet, just hangers on a rack, no place for suitcases except the floor. We spent a lot of time at the lakefront because sitting in our car was more comfortable than being in the room. On our 10 night vacation, this was the very worst place we stayed --- and the most expensive. We do not recommend this place to anyone. Mackinaw City should be ashamed to show it on their website.

Room Tip: Nothing good to say about this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We made an on line reservation which was confirmed in writing and specific to a chalet with a Queen bed. When we arrived the staff stated the website showed just a Queen bed (even though we had the printed confirmation to the contrary and they had called that morning to confirm the reservation). It was the beginning of the holiday weekend and they tried to force us into a very dirty second story, old room with a Queen with $10 off. We then had to find another hotel and of course the adjacent one (share the same staff...hmmm) offered us a clean room for more than double the price at the Comfort Inn. Can't help but be suspicious and was certainly dissatisfied.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

when we got there, we were early so it was understandable the room wasnt ready, but when we came back, they gave us a room key and when going to our room, the room still had the cleaners cart in it. We had to wait in the hall for 45 minutes before the room was ready. When entering the room, we noticed hairs on the towels in the bathroom, disguisting.
Also the woman at the front desk was rude.
They also misrepresent themselves on the website. They say check in is at three, but it is at 4, and they say there is a basketball court but there hasn't been one in four years.
The breakfast is excellent but it is in another location and is shared with 3 hotels, equaling a lot of guests, and the silly part about that is it is only open between 6-830 am, pretty stupid considering three hotels share it.
We would never stay here again.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

One room, 2 queen beds, separate bathroom. Room needs updating and more lighting. Didn't spend a lot of time in room, so the price paid was ok. Breakfast is located in hotel next door - waiting line is horrible and is only from 6:00am to 8:30am. Waterpark is also located in hotel next door.

Room Tip: If you want to spend a little more for a room, upgrade to the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the renovated cabins. When we pulled up to the cabin and saw the outside I was not impressed to say the least, but was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door. The inside was completely revovated. It had 2 bedrooms, a tv in each room and a small table and refrigerator also a small table and chairs outside. It was a little cramped but served its purpose. For the price you couldn't beat it. It also included breakfast and the indoor waterpark next door. Also had an outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to open the door and find all the walls redone in new "tongue and groove" pine. Really made the place appealing. The breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausage patties, as well as waffles toast and cereal. Only an outdoor pool, but it was hot the day we were there so no problem with that. The new cabins looked terrific but would probably command a much higher rate the the senior deal we got. Worth the money!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge a bit reserve a cabin with a spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 712 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.