We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Economy Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   712 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Marysville, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable Economy Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

One room, 2 queen beds, separate bathroom. Room needs updating and more lighting. Didn't spend a lot of time in room, so the price paid was ok. Breakfast is located in hotel next door - waiting line is horrible and is only from 6:00am to 8:30am. Waterpark is also located in hotel next door.

Room Tip: If you want to spend a little more for a room, upgrade to the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    18
    18
    58
See reviews for
47
31
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the renovated cabins. When we pulled up to the cabin and saw the outside I was not impressed to say the least, but was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door. The inside was completely revovated. It had 2 bedrooms, a tv in each room and a small table and refrigerator also a small table and chairs outside. It was a little cramped but served its purpose. For the price you couldn't beat it. It also included breakfast and the indoor waterpark next door. Also had an outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to open the door and find all the walls redone in new "tongue and groove" pine. Really made the place appealing. The breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausage patties, as well as waffles toast and cereal. Only an outdoor pool, but it was hot the day we were there so no problem with that. The new cabins looked terrific but would probably command a much higher rate the the senior deal we got. Worth the money!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge a bit reserve a cabin with a spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Rude staff. Overpriced rooms. Filthy absolutely filthy. Mattress full of stains. Carpet so dirty would not take off shoes in room. Better off sleeping on car. Would not give us a refund. They said must be seventy two hour notice but then refunded second night with twenty four notice. So not only rude but unable to do simple math. Manager best suited for working alone with no public contact. Economy must be grtting better if this guy has a job

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the hotel and not the cabins, which are newer. We were not given a written confirmation, as the staff said they do not send them. I checked a couple of weeks out, and they had booked the wrong dates for me. In spite of having a confirmation number, it took some time to rebook with correct dates and price. The bathroom floor was sticky, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, and we were booked into a room based on them thinking we had a dog?? We had asked for an upper floor, which we were not given. The walls were paper thin. We tried to cut one day off a three-day reservation, and we were told we would have to pay for the third night if we left. The breakfast room was dirty, and the food/coffee was not replenished on a regular basis. The breakfast room served many guests, but it appeared one employee had to handle the entire area. I would not recommend or stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter, but log cabins are newer. I would recommend top floor. We had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are older. Location was nice, right across the street from the boats to the island. Offers an indoor water park and outdoor pool. If you don't plan on spending a lot of money or time in your room, this is a decent place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Rude desk clerk. Did not stay in newer cabins, but in room remodeled, in part, to look like a cabin. The bathroom was not remodeled and was dirty. We had to ask for new bedding as the ones on the bed were stained. We arranged for the room about a week in advance (thinking the price would be cheaper than what we would get upon arrival). This proved to be wrong.The folks registering ahead of us (on the night of their arrival to the city) got their room for nearly $60 less a night. The manager refused to honor a price adjustment.

Room Tip: If you need an economy room, don't be fooled. This was no bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 712 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Econolodge Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.