We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place EVER” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Mackinaw City

Knights Inn Mackinaw City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Mackinaw City to your Saves list
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   412 N Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-0069 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst place EVER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Now called the STAY INN with new owners that have a lot of work to do. Stayed here Sept 15, 2012 for the Richard Crane Truck Show. Its a great location for viewing the parade of semis coming over the Mackinaw Bridge. Thats the best part of this hotel, the curb.
The bath is so small you won't want to or can't use it. It's old tired and needs alot of work. It had WIFI but only 20 channels on the TV. The closet (10 inches) was in the bathroom next to the cracked sink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
13
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester MI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Same property, just a different name. They have painted over the sign out front for Econo Lodge, and use the marque sign below with the name "Stay Inn". The big "e" logo remains. We rolled into Mackinaw City never expecting to need a reservation, as they always seem to have lots of rooms. The weekend we came to town however was the one when two conventions were in town. Everyone was booked. We came to this property as they had several rooms available. No wonder! The room was expensive for what we got - $69 + tax. There are two parts to this property - a one level of very old and dated rooms, and a two story building with somewhat newer rooms. The woman at the front desk was very pleasent, and even suggested other properties that had a pool (this one does not). After a few calls we realized these may be the last rooms in town, so we stayed. From the maintenance of these though it is likely that they have not seen much maintenance in a decade or so. The stairs and decks to our second floor room were very worn and splintery. The room door was opened with a key, so very poor security compared to a cardkey system. The room was mostly clean but dated. Although we were shown a room with a mini fridge and microwave there were not these in the room we rented. There were only two small bath towels available. There was no hair dryer or iron in the room. My girlfriend brought her own small travel hair dryer, plugged it is, then POP - blew the circuit for the whole room. There we were, in the dark. I called the front desk and heard "Oh, yuo must have been running the bathroom fan while running a blow dryer. You can't do that" (Oh, silly us, thinking there would be enough power to meet code?!) This room likely should have rented for about $40 then I would not have been dissappointed. Although they claimed to provide a continental breakfast it was lame. There was no coffee in the pump thermos. I rang the bell on the desk. An older man, not too friendly, took the thermos but it never re-appeared. There were a few cheap store bought tiny swirl cinnamon buns and a loaf of bread, a toaster, a pitcher of O.J.. This place needs help.

Room Tip: two story rooms are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked our cabin in January for July. After doing more research of cabins we decided it would be to small. So we cancelled and booked some where else. Well or plan changed we did not make it to Mackinaw City. I cancelled my cabin by Febuary. We still made our trip to Michigan. While on vacation we got a call from Mike the manager saying we would be charged for no show. Someone down the line in reservations screwed up. Never cancelled our cabin. Now he is going to charge us 215.00 for never being there. This is bull. Never stay there manager Mike needs customer service training. He hung up on me very rude guy. Does not believe my story that his team could have ever made a mistake. Please never ever stay at Cabins of Mackinaw.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Arriveed in town without reservations so spent some time searching. Prices were ranging from 198.00-308.00.then we checked econ.89.99! clean. comfortable. convenient. no extras like pool or breakfast but we didnt need those. the hotel is right next to a family owned restaurant which was wonderful. we were 3 blocks from downtown shopping,ferry to islands and museums. Glad we kept looking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

After the 5 hour drive up from Detroit, it was a nice relief to get off the road before crossing the bridge. It was only a two minute walk to the beach, and the restaurant next door was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Az.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We wanted to stop and visit the town of Mackinaw City on our way to the Upper Penisular of Michigan but did not want a large hotel with all the hustle and bustle of the city, so we chose this easy on - easy off location. The owner Dawn was most gracious and caring and we were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. We went just a stones throw away from the bridge and the beach which was perfect for a nice walk for us. The city shopping was nice with the odor of fudge everywhere. A few really nice shops at Mackinaw Crossings and also a theater. We were easy walking distance from everything. Dawn knows everything about the city and surrounding areas so she was better than having a personal quide, she directed us to everyplace we asked about.
We would certainly stay there again and are planning on staying on our return trip from our Canadian adventure.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out their website. It is a true showing of what you will get in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

If this room had been $39.95, I wouldn't have left this bad review. So when our reservation came in at $120 + tax, we expected more. We experienced a very old motel room with stained carpet, tiny, old, patched up bathroom, and a unusable, terrible shower. None of us could take a shower since the water was either SCALDING HOT or FREEZING COLD and would shift constantly between the two temps no matter how you tried to balance the flow. The man at the desk appeared to be bothered in general and esp by my request for extra pillows. In all fairness, he appeared to have a physical disability so we don't want to blame him too much. The hotel advertised a free breakfast. Here's what we greeted us in the cramped, outdated lobby: a 12-pack of mini donuts from the conveniecne store, bad coffee, and a couple of old apples . All of this might have been funny/charming had it not been for the way-too-high-discounted price we paid for the night. We certainly were not expecting a four-star hotel, BUT we thought the experience would be much better considering our typical stays for $70-90. Our advice to the owners? Listen to the reviews, fix the things that don't work (especially the hot/cold shower issue), update, clean your carpets, take 15 minutes to reconsider what you serve for breakfast. Perhaps it is that the whole area in the UP where we stayed is over-priced? Nonetheless, we stayed the night previous at Niagara Falls where room rates were less and the rooms 100-times better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 412 N Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-0069 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Mackinaw City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Econolodge Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Mackinaw City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.