We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay here again in Mackinaw City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Lakeside to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lakeside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 S. Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Fenton, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again in Mackinaw City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Lakeside (not to be confused with another Comfort Inn down the street) for two nights at the end of June 2014 in a first floor room. The room was clean and the decor was up-to-date. The bed and the pillows were very comfy! I was put off by an envelope left with the maid's first name and a pre-printed "request" to leave something if the room looked good. I did leave a tip however because I usually do that anyway. The free breakfast was good. It consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, a waffle maker, bagels, donuts, cereal, etc. My two complaints were that there were five tables in the eating area inside and the counter was too close to the tables leaving little room to maneuver if there were more than five people trying to get breakfast at the same time. There were outside tables but the weather was too chilly and the mayflies had hatched and were swarming like crazy. The hotel was a quick walk to ferries to take you to Mackinac Island, to area restaurants, and to the tourist shops. Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the review. We look forward to having you stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
35
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here 6/20 & 6/21. Good location, near the ferry docks. The room was ok, nothing special. It did have a mini fridge that was good to have. The biggest problem was the May flies (or Midges they called them) that were still around in late June-- that were just all around the area. (Not the hotel's fault!) If you walked outside, they were landing all over you--didn't seem to bite, but were just annoying. When you opened your room door, in they came! Any outside wall that was white was covered with these black flies. The breakfast room was quite small, didn't have many tables. Not a great choice of food. There was an outside eating area that would have been nice, but again--the flies!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Yes, those annoying midges lasted longer than usual this year ! Thank you for staying with us. We hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I've stayed at four of the beachfront hotels over the years. The Comfort Inn Lakeside is on par with the others that surround it. Certainly cleaner than the Hamilton. Breakfast is the usual instant egg powder, bread products and make-yourself waffles, identical to every other hotel on the strip. It's walking distance to the Star Line ferry. Rooms are clean, pool and whirlpool were clean and my stay was uncomplicated. Internet booking, easy check-in and even easier check-out was uneventful. I would return for the fourth time. No hotel in Mackinaw City is five star. They are all geared for families and short stays. For the price and services, the Comfort Inn Lakeside will meet your needs. I do agree that the breakfast room is woefully too small. I guess that is my only complaint.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We hope you visit us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Great location and value. Beautiful lake/beach views. Nothing fancy, but nice, modern and clean rooms with good wife and mini-fridg. The best that u will find in Mackinac! Much better value than most accommodations on the island.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn Lakeside. Come visit us again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were booked during the beginning of the Lilac Festival on the Island. The accomodations were nice and the staff very friendly. The only downsides were the gnats and mosquitoes; but we heard they had been much worse a few weeks earlier. Bug spray worked wonders. The free breakfast was a little lacking. The space was small as well as the food selection. All on all though we would book there again. The views from the beach and balcony were awesome!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We appreciate the feedback. Come see us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was a really nice place to stay the room was great and the view was awesome. The two ladies at the front desk are very friendly and helpful I will be staing here again. I will also be recommending this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Lakeside, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountlake Terrace, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Downsides first. Parking lot is a little small because they get motor coach tours and the first night we were there some school with vans and trailers selfishly took up way too many spots with their crummy parking job. The breakfast area is really too small considering the people on motorcoach tours are all going to hit it at once, although I ate outside one morning it was great the beach. The Upsides, the view from the room was amazing, incredible sunrise, at night it was relaxing to sit and look at the lights. The ferries to Mackinac Isand, and excellent restaurants are all within walking distance so we just parked the car and walked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lakeside

Address: 611 S. Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lakeside Hotel Mackinaw City
Comfort Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.