We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lakeside to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lakeside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 S. Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Holt, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was here for my annual trek to the U.P. a color trip. I'm glad I got this hotel at such a discount! The view is okay, but you can't see the bridge and are close to the ferry lines. So each time the ferry leaves for the island and returns, you have that noise. I stayed on the 3rd floor beachfront room and I was unaware there was NO elevator. My double queen room was only average-the best thing was the balcony &extra large T.V. The breakfast room is small and overcrowed in the morning with nothing spectacular on it's fair. I didn't take in any of the other amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    25
    13
    13
See reviews for
35
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed in this facility before, and it was ok. Our stay in Sept, 2012, was terrible. We had 2 rooms and when our friend turned down the covers on her bed, bed bugs ran. There was no manager on duty that night and no one from maintenance came when called. Desk personnel did move our friend to another room, but stay was ruined by that time. Next morning asked to talk to a manager, again not there. Desk personnel (very cold) would not give us a business card but did say they would tell manager and he (Mike) would call us. Six days and no call. Won't stay there again! Would advise others to stay away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We would definitely stay at the Comfort Inn Lakeside again....rooms were clean,spacious and quiet.It is well located, you can walk to restaurants, shops, ferries....It is right on the water, but we did not have time to enjoy the beach area. Breakfast room is too small, but if it is a nice morning, you can eat outside and enjoy the sunrise over the lake. Breakfast was good...eggs, sausage, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, waffles, juice. Indoor pool and jacuzzi area was clean and a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel was clean and in a nice spot of the city. It is a bit dated. The breakfast is meager, but you'll probably want to eat somewhere else anyway. We had repeated problems with their room keys demagnetizing the hotel staff were a bit testy about replacing the keys. The best part about this place was the little beach outside. They bay is very shallow with numerous sand bars and my kids and had a great time playing in the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We reserved a king bed 4 months in advance but when we got there we were given two queens because no kings were available. Front desk staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. We had to ask about the indoor water park advertised on the website as nothing we provided upon check-in or in the rooms. Hot tub was not hot. Shower temp varied from minute to minute. Rooms small and dark; would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemlock
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We reserved this room just a few days before arriving and had a nice stay. We weren't expecting top-notch accommodations, so we were fine with everything. The lady at the front desk was a little cold, but the rooms were fine, get a lakefront view if you can (it's gorgeous) and the breakfast was wonderful. The breakfast room was a bit tiny but you have the option of taking it back to your room. The breakfast attendant was very sweet. I didn't realize they close at the end of April until Spring!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here one night before ferrying over to Mackinac Island for a 2-night stay at the Grand Hotel. We arrived later in the evening so a relatively easy check-in was appreciated; however, the parking lot was packed & we had to park quite a distance from where our actual room was. When we got to the hallway in front of our room, we had to go around the maintenance man who was trying to get rid of a bat that was either injured, or worse, lying on the sidewalk outside our room. Not a very pleasant first impression. Due to a cancellation, we were "upgraded" to a jacuzzi room, but had to wait before entering so that the desk clerk could remove the "romance package" from the room. The room was at a closed-in end of the hallway, and each time we went out of or into the room, we had to dodge a flying bat. So if you have a bat phobia, or don't like bats swooping that close to you, you may want to either stay in your room and not leave at night, or avoid the hotel altogether, as bats do seem to be an issue.

The room itself was fine for an overnight stay. The decor is dark, dated, and shows several years worth of wear & tear, but it was clean & the king bed was comfortable. We didn't use the jacuzzi tub, but it seemed to be a comfortable size & was clean as well. We were on the first floor so the "balcony" consisted of a railing around a very small concrete pad. I wouldn't recommend this room for anyone seeking privacy as it's right on the beach and anyone on the beach can look right into your room. There were no sheers behind the heavy drapes so you either have to keep the drapes closed, which makes the room very dark, or keep them open where everyone can see in. There was a mini fridge in the room, which is always appreciated, but the "coffee station" was situated on the small, one-sink vanity, and it had to be removed just so there was enough room for minimal toiletries. Also, the vanity area is located in the main area of the room, separate from the toilet & tub. The bulb was out in the bathroom light, so to have light in there, we had to turn on the heat lamp. You would think that housekeeping would've noticed that the light was out when they were in there cleaning, but maybe not? There was a large flat screen TV in the room and the WiFi had a good signal, although the remote control for the TV was sluggish.

We were up early enough the next morning to see a fantastic sunrise over Lake Huron which made the overnight stay worth it; breakfast, however, left a lot to be desired. This was our 2nd time staying in Mackinaw City and the hotel where we stayed on our previous visit was on par with the Comfort Inn. We went into this overnight stay with no expectations or delusions of grandeur so we weren't disappointed, but any future guests planning to stay here need to know that it's just an average hotel, for a slightly above-average price, in an above-average location.

Room Tip: If you don't mind hauling your luggage up 3 flights of stairs, end-unit rooms on the 3rd floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lakeside

Address: 611 S. Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lakeside Hotel Mackinaw City
Comfort Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.