We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lakeside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lakeside to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lakeside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 S. Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here one night before ferrying over to Mackinac Island for a 2-night stay at the Grand Hotel. We arrived later in the evening so a relatively easy check-in was appreciated; however, the parking lot was packed & we had to park quite a distance from where our actual room was. When we got to the hallway in front of our room, we had to go around the maintenance man who was trying to get rid of a bat that was either injured, or worse, lying on the sidewalk outside our room. Not a very pleasant first impression. Due to a cancellation, we were "upgraded" to a jacuzzi room, but had to wait before entering so that the desk clerk could remove the "romance package" from the room. The room was at a closed-in end of the hallway, and each time we went out of or into the room, we had to dodge a flying bat. So if you have a bat phobia, or don't like bats swooping that close to you, you may want to either stay in your room and not leave at night, or avoid the hotel altogether, as bats do seem to be an issue.

The room itself was fine for an overnight stay. The decor is dark, dated, and shows several years worth of wear & tear, but it was clean & the king bed was comfortable. We didn't use the jacuzzi tub, but it seemed to be a comfortable size & was clean as well. We were on the first floor so the "balcony" consisted of a railing around a very small concrete pad. I wouldn't recommend this room for anyone seeking privacy as it's right on the beach and anyone on the beach can look right into your room. There were no sheers behind the heavy drapes so you either have to keep the drapes closed, which makes the room very dark, or keep them open where everyone can see in. There was a mini fridge in the room, which is always appreciated, but the "coffee station" was situated on the small, one-sink vanity, and it had to be removed just so there was enough room for minimal toiletries. Also, the vanity area is located in the main area of the room, separate from the toilet & tub. The bulb was out in the bathroom light, so to have light in there, we had to turn on the heat lamp. You would think that housekeeping would've noticed that the light was out when they were in there cleaning, but maybe not? There was a large flat screen TV in the room and the WiFi had a good signal, although the remote control for the TV was sluggish.

We were up early enough the next morning to see a fantastic sunrise over Lake Huron which made the overnight stay worth it; breakfast, however, left a lot to be desired. This was our 2nd time staying in Mackinaw City and the hotel where we stayed on our previous visit was on par with the Comfort Inn. We went into this overnight stay with no expectations or delusions of grandeur so we weren't disappointed, but any future guests planning to stay here need to know that it's just an average hotel, for a slightly above-average price, in an above-average location.

Room Tip: If you don't mind hauling your luggage up 3 flights of stairs, end-unit rooms on the 3rd floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    25
    13
    13
See reviews for
35
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here with my family just recently and had a good stay. The beach area they have is really nice and big with a patio area to sit on. The views are amazing. The only downfall was the breakfast area was super small. Just looks like a walk through area with only four tables. So if it is raining good luck. Otherwise really nice and good walking close to the downtown area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our visit to Mackinac Island. I wish we tried another hotel first.

This hotel was OK but, for the price paid, we should have had a much better hotel. The room did have a strong & peculiar smell of cleaning fluid. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crivitz, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location but so is another dozen hotels. Hamilton shares a stair well. Room is average and smelled like someone spilt nail polish remover ( not the hotels fault). Carpet in room made me want to keep my shoes on if not for that it seemed clean but dull decor. I Would check out another hotel if I came back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kawkawlin, mi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here mid June. Nice location. Had a room overlooking the water. The kids could exit right out onto the beach. That was nice. Weather was great so we were in and out of room all day (housekeeping-sorry about the sand). Price was good but we were there mid week and it was very quite. Easy walk to town. OK breakfast-room did not hold alot of people so busy weekend or holiday may not be very pleasant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Returning home from Florida. A few hotels open the first week of April in Mackinaw City. Spring break in full swing, so the hotel was filled with vacationing families. The hotel is somewhat dated, room needed a fresh coat of paint and bathroom fixtures could be changed along with the shower head that you had to hold in place in order to get a shower.
The beds were comfortable. The TV which was ancient had to be changed because it just didnt work. This was done promptly and we ended up with a wide screen Tv. The room itself was clean.
The morning breakfast buffet left little to be desired. No fruit, juice machine broken,the place was a disaster, garbage overflowing everywhere, no one around to clean up after the mess left behind kids pouring milk, making waffles and the list goes on.
Would we stay here again, probably not...Our coupon was a discounted room was not accepted because the hotel was almost full, so we paid 20 dollars more, which I felt at this time of the year was overpriced.

Room Tip: check out the room before you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stay at this hotel often, mostly to break up the trip from Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario to Traverse City, Michigan and on occasion, simply for a quick family getaway at a reasonable cost. The waterpark has something to offer for all ages; Pirate Adventure for the younger ones, a good size swimming pool, a good size hot tub and a sauna. Rates are unbelievable during off season, approximately November until early May. Highly recommend.

These are my comments to the hotel during our last visit on November 19, 2011.

"Easy check in and out, fast. We were upgraded. The clerk helped us find a particular business that we wanted to visit. He called the business for their hours on our behalf. We made it there much to the kids' pleasure. Rooms are consitently clean. Breakfast across the street awesome, efficient as usual."

Room Tip: I don't bother trying to choose. The rooms are all nice from my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lakeside

Address: 611 S. Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lakeside Hotel Mackinaw City
Comfort Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.