We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great pet-friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Oakland County, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great pet-friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you're looking for Hilton-style and amenities, you won't find them at this price-point. What you will find is a clean, comfortable place that's just a short distance from downtown and the local attractions. Everything works the way it should and any problems/needs we had were always resolved by a quick call to the front desk. We have stayed here before and continue to return because they're pet-friendly and there's actually a little "bonus" just across the street - a small park-like area that's the perfect place to walk your dog while they do the things that dogs do when they're outside.

Room Tip: When I asked about their wireless service and mentioned it was important to us, the staff gave us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
So glad you and your furry friend can enjoy the hotel and park across the street. I highly recommend it for all the guests to try. Please come back and see us very soon. Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    28
    16
    15
See reviews for
45
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the area for our honeymoon. I booked the room online, based on other reviews and the fantastic prices. When we arrived, the lady(Teresa was her name) that greeted us was warm and welcoming and very friendly. She gave us tips and stuff for the area and some coupons for the city and the ferry to the island. Check in was a breeze and we were given a gift certificate to a great restaurant in town and a bottle of champange to celebrate our honeymoon:) Our room was VERY clean and spacious. The jacuzzi tub was great and the room was very quaint and cute. Bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. We will most definitely return to the Thunderbird Inn when we return to the area! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here two nights in October. The room was clean and comfortable. The appliances are a bit old but they all work fine. Everything is a bit dated but the price is right and for use as a base for exploring the surrounding area it works very well. They provide a very nice breakfast with cereal, eggs, waffles, coffee, juice etc. It is more than enough to get you going in the morning. It is a little ways out from the docks and the center of town. you could walk, but it is a easy short drive. The staff was helpful and friendly. It's a no frills type of place and not a resort type place so don't expect that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for the great and honest comments. We realize we are not brand new also, but our goal has been and will remain clean, comfortable, and affordable. That being said I will work on upgrading some of the appliances as soon as I can. And I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and Mackinaw City. :)

Sincerely,

Teresa Andrson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I'll admit it. I'm a cheapskate. Always searching for the best deal, I sometimes skimp on quality. I lucked out this time. Thunderbird Inn was a delightful surprise - clean, spacious rooms with a decent breakfast and an indoor pool too! You can't beat the price or the location. Beds were really comfortable and the place was quiet - we even had a big bus tour there and we didn't hear a thing. We will definitely check this one out again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and I'm glad to hear you'll be joining us again. Safe travels, have a great day!

Sincerely,

Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was the cheapest room we could find while passing through.

Check in and out was excellent. Room itself was fine - basic but clean. We requested and received a ground floor room so it was nice being able to park right outside our door.

Breakfast in the morning was the usual continental assortment - toast, waffles etc. The staff in the breakfast room was amazing though.

The indoor pool was a big bonus and we really enjoyed it. The water was very warm and a pleasant to swim in. Our only complaint was that it wasn't open at the time it was supposed to be, so several of us were standing outside in the cold waiting to find out if the fellow was going to come and open it.

ktown

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room for easy access to your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I would like to start by apologizing for maintenance not open the pool at the designated time, and I'm sorry you had to stand in the cold that is unexceptable. I will make the nessessary changes to make sure this does not happen again. I am glad you enjoyed the room and breakfast. I will pass your comments along to the attendant as well. Its always nice to hear your doing a good job.:)

Sincerely,

Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Reviews were very good so decided to try on return trip. It turned out to be an excellent choice for comfort, service and value. Breakfast was better than average with a spacious eating area. Rooms were very nice an comfortable. The pool looked nice but we didn't try it. The wireless Internet worked well after a call and starting by going out to the pool area and returning to room. Some sort of weak signal problem. All in all this was a great choice and worthy of a repeat.

Room Tip: For Internet close to office as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaDitta, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I do apologize for the internet signal it is something we are constantly working on, and I have no plans on stopping until the issue is resolved.

Sincerely,

Teresa Anderson/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Beautiful Boutique Property completely devoted to customer service and clean rooms. We provide all the things you have grown to love and trust from a hotel including free WIFI, free breakfast, an indoor pool, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, cable TV and much more. We are AAA approved, Pet friendly, AARP accepted, along with many other discounts and very close to all local attractions including the ferry lines and water park. Here at the Thunderbird Inn we welcome everyone with a smile and we are confident you will leave with one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.