We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway at the Deerhead Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
Save Saved
You added Deer Head Inn to your Saves list
109 Henry Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend getaway at the Deerhead Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Deerhead Inn was a very nice B&B. One of the nicest I've stayed in. Our room was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Every room was tastefully decorated. Nancy and Barry were gracious hosts and the breakfasts were delicious. The snowy weather made it a winter wonderland. My only complaints is there isn't much happening in Mackinac City this time of year, but it still was a nice getaway. i loved the fireplaces in all of the rooms. It was a perfect spot for our family get together.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice. i don't think you can go wrong in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a B & B everything one would expect from an inn! Barry and Nancy were so friendly and accomodating. They sure know their Macinack history and are more than willing to sit a spell and chat with you. Excellent location to walk into town, to the ferry, to the park...
Our room was roomy, yet cozy, with a sitting room off to one side - complete with fireplace. Each room has its own bath. We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed each breakfast Nancy made. Her recipes are to die for! If you have the chance to stay in Macinack City, make sure you stay at the Deer Head Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed our overnight visit very much. We stayed in the Hemingway room which has a 2 person jacuzzi tub, a fireplace, and a sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. Barry and Nancy are both very nice and helpful about things to do and places to eat in the area. The B & B is located in a quiet area yet it is a very short walk to shopping and the bridge. The breakfast the morning we were there was excellent and included eggs benedict. I enjoy staying at B & B's and this is one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. A great place to stay in Mackinaw City!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Deer Head Lodge has an excellent location, just off the heart of the community, bvut still quiet. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts are outstanding, and the prices are among the best in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you have an idea of how a B&B should be this is it. Beautiful rooms, great breakfast and a great location! What more could you ask for? Fantastic mounts all about the house of deer, pheasants.... Barry and his wife take time to be sure their guests are happy. We were very happy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for a night in the Wilderness Room - a spacious and cozy suite on the 2nd floor of this home. The temperature outside was cold and the fireplace in the room was especially delightful. The king bed was comfortable and the room was decorated tastefully...so relaxing and quiet...clean enough that I even walked barefoot in the rooms!! Barry and Nancy were friendly and eager to meet all our needs - the breakfast in the AM was delicious and the conversation at the table was enjoyable as well. Would recommend this delightful spot - close to ferry docks and right near downtown.

Room Tip: Wilderness Room - cozy and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed two nights in the Wilderness Room at Deer head Lodge. My husband and I were impressed with the size of the room and the warm, cozy feel to it. We also appreciated how quiet the room was in the evening (which we could not say about the hotel we stayed at the following evening). As other reviewers noted, the breakfasts were incredible. My husband even raved about it and he can be a picky eater. The inn's location was within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, ferries, bridge and lighthouse. If heading to Mackinac Island, we recommend the Seabiscuit Cafe for lunch. Best sweet potato fries I ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Address: 109 Henry Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.