We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
109 Henry Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Deer Head Lodge has an excellent location, just off the heart of the community, bvut still quiet. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts are outstanding, and the prices are among the best in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you have an idea of how a B&B should be this is it. Beautiful rooms, great breakfast and a great location! What more could you ask for? Fantastic mounts all about the house of deer, pheasants.... Barry and his wife take time to be sure their guests are happy. We were very happy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for a night in the Wilderness Room - a spacious and cozy suite on the 2nd floor of this home. The temperature outside was cold and the fireplace in the room was especially delightful. The king bed was comfortable and the room was decorated tastefully...so relaxing and quiet...clean enough that I even walked barefoot in the rooms!! Barry and Nancy were friendly and eager to meet all our needs - the breakfast in the AM was delicious and the conversation at the table was enjoyable as well. Would recommend this delightful spot - close to ferry docks and right near downtown.

Room Tip: Wilderness Room - cozy and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed two nights in the Wilderness Room at Deer head Lodge. My husband and I were impressed with the size of the room and the warm, cozy feel to it. We also appreciated how quiet the room was in the evening (which we could not say about the hotel we stayed at the following evening). As other reviewers noted, the breakfasts were incredible. My husband even raved about it and he can be a picky eater. The inn's location was within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, ferries, bridge and lighthouse. If heading to Mackinac Island, we recommend the Seabiscuit Cafe for lunch. Best sweet potato fries I ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B after being married for 35 years!! We absolutely loved the time we spent there. We will definately go back. Barry and Nancy are extremely friendly and accomodating. They make sure everything is perfect for your stay there. From the food (absolutely wonderful stuffed French Toast!), the 2 room Bear Room w/ private bath (very homey and very clean) to the safe, private parking area. We enjoyed the conversations with Barry at breakfast and met a very nice and fun couple who were also staying there. We are so glad that being our first experience with a B & B that we chose this one. We are looking forward to the next trip to the Deer Head Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Best Eggs Benedict I've ever had - and the accommodations were very nice too. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next day was also excellent. Barry and Nancy were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to make recommendations. Location couldn't have been better -- an easy walk to attractions in Mackinaw City and to the ferry to Mackinac Island. All around excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had never stayed in a B&B before. We took the recommendation of a friend and decided to give one a try. We are so very glad we did! The Deer Head Inn was perfect! Barry and Nancy are so nice. We were greeted by Nancy who checked us in and gave us the tour of the house. The rooms were beautiful...when I called to make our reservations Nancy recommended the Bear room for us, since we were traveling with our 4 year old. The Bear room has an additional sitting room with a pull out couch.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Our first morning we had scrambled eggs, sausage links, and stuffed French toast (I don't typically like French toast, but this was so tasty). Our second morning we were served eggs Benedict, Apple crisp and a fresh fruit platter. They made our daughter her own scrambled eggs since she didn't want the eggs Benedict.

Nancy was so kind to our daughter, she gave her a project to find out what Mackinac meant. Our daughter was so excited to figure this out. When she didn't have the answer that night, Nancy lent her a book about the legend of Mackinac. Our daughter just thought that this was so cool, and couldn't wait to go to breakfasts the next day to tell Nancy what Mackinac meant.

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Address: 109 Henry Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deer Head Inn to your Saves list