We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time B and B experience was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
Save Saved
You added Deer Head Inn to your Saves list
109 Henry Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hudsonville, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“first time B and B experience was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for a night in the Wilderness Room - a spacious and cozy suite on the 2nd floor of this home. The temperature outside was cold and the fireplace in the room was especially delightful. The king bed was comfortable and the room was decorated tastefully...so relaxing and quiet...clean enough that I even walked barefoot in the rooms!! Barry and Nancy were friendly and eager to meet all our needs - the breakfast in the AM was delicious and the conversation at the table was enjoyable as well. Would recommend this delightful spot - close to ferry docks and right near downtown.

Room Tip: Wilderness Room - cozy and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed two nights in the Wilderness Room at Deer head Lodge. My husband and I were impressed with the size of the room and the warm, cozy feel to it. We also appreciated how quiet the room was in the evening (which we could not say about the hotel we stayed at the following evening). As other reviewers noted, the breakfasts were incredible. My husband even raved about it and he can be a picky eater. The inn's location was within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, ferries, bridge and lighthouse. If heading to Mackinac Island, we recommend the Seabiscuit Cafe for lunch. Best sweet potato fries I ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B after being married for 35 years!! We absolutely loved the time we spent there. We will definately go back. Barry and Nancy are extremely friendly and accomodating. They make sure everything is perfect for your stay there. From the food (absolutely wonderful stuffed French Toast!), the 2 room Bear Room w/ private bath (very homey and very clean) to the safe, private parking area. We enjoyed the conversations with Barry at breakfast and met a very nice and fun couple who were also staying there. We are so glad that being our first experience with a B & B that we chose this one. We are looking forward to the next trip to the Deer Head Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Best Eggs Benedict I've ever had - and the accommodations were very nice too. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next day was also excellent. Barry and Nancy were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to make recommendations. Location couldn't have been better -- an easy walk to attractions in Mackinaw City and to the ferry to Mackinac Island. All around excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had never stayed in a B&B before. We took the recommendation of a friend and decided to give one a try. We are so very glad we did! The Deer Head Inn was perfect! Barry and Nancy are so nice. We were greeted by Nancy who checked us in and gave us the tour of the house. The rooms were beautiful...when I called to make our reservations Nancy recommended the Bear room for us, since we were traveling with our 4 year old. The Bear room has an additional sitting room with a pull out couch.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Our first morning we had scrambled eggs, sausage links, and stuffed French toast (I don't typically like French toast, but this was so tasty). Our second morning we were served eggs Benedict, Apple crisp and a fresh fruit platter. They made our daughter her own scrambled eggs since she didn't want the eggs Benedict.

Nancy was so kind to our daughter, she gave her a project to find out what Mackinac meant. Our daughter was so excited to figure this out. When she didn't have the answer that night, Nancy lent her a book about the legend of Mackinac. Our daughter just thought that this was so cool, and couldn't wait to go to breakfasts the next day to tell Nancy what Mackinac meant.

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

we just returned from a whirlwind trip around the Michigan UP and Door County, Wisconsin. Stayed two nights at the Deer Head Lodge in Mackinaw City, MI and found the inn keepers to be a vast source of local knowledge as well as great cooks. Our room was on the small side but very well equipped and maintained. But the breakfasts are well worth the stays. We were treated to huge breakfasts consisting of eggs, french toast delicious sausages and fantastic desserts. The dining facility couldn't accomidate the entire number of guests in one table so we were unable to meet all the guests since there was two tables for guests but the conversations were lively and we enjoyed meeting the various travelers from other areas of the country. All in all, we highly recommend staying at this lovely B&B

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hiawatha room quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We are actually still in the Hiawatha Room checking out soon. I couldn't wait to post this review. We did a Bed and Breakfast tour of the area and this was the BEST all around experience. The Inn isn't your typical old fashioned B&B, although it is almost 100 years old. So if you're looking for that victorian feel, it won't happen here. However, it is very clean! The decor is more on a wilderness theme with deer heads, stuffed small game, and indian decor all around. The most notable factor about this place was the breakfast. WOW! Eggs Benedict with fresh fruit and other compliments. You eat breakfast in a very nice eating area and get to sit with other guests and mingle over fresh coffee and good food. It was a nice social experience. We actually had quite a few younger people there too (we are late 20's - newlyweds) The Inn Keepers are very polite, informative, and all around just very nice people. I can't say enough about this place! Stay here. Also, the location is PRIME! within walking distance to everything. We were NOT IMPRESSED in Mackinaw City. The food was terrible and service even worse in the city. Go to the island and enjoy! It is within a 3 minute walk to Sheplers Ferry. Just excellent. I could go on forever!

Room Tip: Hiawatha Room is very native american. I loved it! Bearclaw tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Address: 109 Henry Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.