We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
207 Langlade Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northville, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Let me start by saying we are not bed and breakfast types. We really don't care for them because we just don't feel they have enough privacy. But, we loved the Brigadoon. It felt very private. Our room was on the third floor, and we never noticed or heard any other guests nearby. The room had a king size bed, fireplace with sitting area, little outdoor porch and a nice shower with jacuzzi tub and heated floors in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the pillows a little hard, but you got used to them. The breakfast was excellent and the hosts were very nice. We will stay there again for sure. It is a great location to walk to town and restaurants and bars, and also to catch the ferry over to the island. Highly recommend it for the area. It is probably the nicest place to stay in the city. Most of the hotels in the city are the lower-end chain hotels - this was definitely a better option.

  • Liked — The location, the room, the breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    14
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MILLINGTON
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

We just returned from yet another delightful visit to Brigdoon. Our room was exactly as we expected, and as clean as a pin. The breakfasts were outstanding, as usual, and Sherree and Megan were such fun to be around. The location is great for older people who tire easily, as HE does. ha Being only one block off the main street, we could walk and rest as often as we wanted to. The weather was beautiful so we were able to enjoy the rockers on the porch too. Each room has a table with two chairs, a microwave and refrigerator. We went to a restaurant that Sherree recommended and got a take out meal to enjoy in front of our large windows. In our opinion, you can't go wrong by including the Brigadoon in your vacation plans. We never tire of it.

  • Liked — Just everything, price, location, personnel, you name it.
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike that I saw
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

I hate to be a downer but I have to say that I was not too impressed with Brigadoon. For the price we paid we could have booked an exotic weekend vacation in Mexico.
Our room was nice and the fireplace was cozy. The bathtub was huge.
We planned on taking a candle lit bubble bath for 2, but when we asked for matches at the front desk we were politely declined. It turns out there was a fire at Brigadoon and candle burning is not looked favorably upon.
We borrowed a movie at the front desk and went to bed.
The breakfast was great, but not very filling.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

This bed and breakfast is utterly charming as is the owner. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the rooms are lovely and spacious. Our room had a fireplace and a whirlpool bathtub. The bed was exceedingly comfortable. Usually I have a hard time sleeping the first night in a hotel, but this place was so comfortable and homey that I slept like a rock. The decor is country cottage/Victorian which may come across as too flowery for some who like a more spare contemporary feel.
There is a library of videos available to guests, each room has a basket of candy, and the common room is a nice retreat for those who want to talk, play games, complete a jigsaw puzzle or read. There is a long porch with several chairs just ready and waiting for guests to relax.
The breakfast room is pure delight, and every table has its own themed set of salt and pepper shakers which is fascinating to kids. Breakfast itself was delicious. I wanted the recipe for the french toast!
The inn is within easy walking distance of the main tourist area of Mackinaw City yet it is in a residential section. The innkeeper was extremely nice, made sure we knew how to operate everything in our room, and made our stay enjoyable. She was also a fount of information on the area and the island. I have already suggested this inn to several people, and I plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

We stayed at the Brigadoon June 11-14th and we absolutely loved it! The room was great, we had room 201. It was gorgeous with a separate sitting area with fridge, sink and microwave, a very high king-sized four-poster bed and bathroom with heated marble floors and a whirlpool tub. The room also had a small balcony with views of the water from it. The owner was great! She recommended fabulous places to eat such as Darrows and the Chippewa Room and some neat things to do in the area. Breakfasts were very filling and very delicious. The first morning we had a creme brulee french toast with sausage, fresh fruit and yogurt. The second morning we had a mushroom quiche with bacon, fruit and yogurt and then the third morning we had berry crepes with suasage, fruit and yogurt. It was wonderful! I highly recommend this place!!!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

After skiing at Boyne Mountain, the Brigadoon was a wonderful 2 day resting spot and homebase for exploring the U.P. and the "Island". Our suite (#302) was spacious, clean, charming, and comfortable. The breakfast area was particularly nice, especially since we spent 2 hours a day eating and sitting around solving all of the world's problems! We found ourselves wanting to stay another day, if we only had the time. Sherree, the owner, was especially accommodating, making sure everything was just right, even though she had just re-opened for the new season.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2004

We booked the Brigadoon based on recommendations from a coworkers parents who had stayed there and raved about it. We booked the "romance package".

Brigadoon's web site promises beverages and snacks upon arrival - we didn't see any out and we weren't offered any. There also wasn't any in our room. We also never received the chocolates and cookies promised on the web site that were included in the romance package.

The owner, Sharri, is very nice and friendly. She is very welcoming. She is very knowledgable about the area and very accomodating to the guests. She is definitely the propertys best asset.

Our room was on the ground floor. The furnishings were worn and the carpet was buckled. Very minor things and not something we would get upset about. The tv in the room is very small and in an bad location for viewing.

The people above us bathed for 2.5 hours on Friday night. From 10:00 PM to 12:30 am. And we could hear EVERYTHING. Then they started again at 6:30 am. For the price ($495.00) for the weekend - I expect sound proof rooms. It was not pleasant to say the least.

The breakfast both days was nice - the food was good.

So my opinion is that Brigadoon is nice, but too expensive for what you receive. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it. It was just too expensive for that room. I have done a lot of traveling and stayed in a lot of hotels, inns and bed and breakfast properties.

I did read the other reviews on Trip Advisor prior to coming. So I was extremely disappointed in our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 207 Langlade Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brigadoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brigadoon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.