We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 S Huron St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Macinac
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Excellent room and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and has a great variety of food. Staff was very friendly and helpful particularily when our electronic key card failed to work.

Like all hotels the prices are a bit high but this is a resort area and the rates are in line with other hotels. Heck of a lot better than the Island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    132
    63
    46
    30
See reviews for
131
165
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Best Western Dockside wanted to charge my credit card 100 dollars extra for each of the two rooms I have reserved on the phone. When I refused, THEY CHARGED IT ANYWAY. No one will help me because I don't have a 'written contract'. The EVIL manager will not reverse the charges. I had to rent other rooms that night and these were lake front suites. I will be recovering from this for years!! This hotel has literally ruined my life! Do NOT give this thief manager your credit card number

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The Hotel was centrally located but highly overpriced for the amenities. It seems that all the hotels in Mackinaw City have exactly the same prices. (Conspiracy perhaps???) Breakfast was OK, room was nice but very noisy. The room was comfortable but nothing special.

Would only recommend this area and hotel if you have money to burn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stay here only if you don't care if these people have free reign with your credit card. We checked in on the 4th of Aug. They charged my card $7xx.xx. OK. We checked out on the 8th of Aug. THEY CHARGED MY CARD $1112.24. I called management that day and was told sorry, They'll fix it within 48 hrs. When I objected to them tying up an additional 7 hundred plus dollors of our money, her reply was,"Why do you need it?" The aditional charge fell off and was credited back to my card on the10th of Aug. Think everything is ok? WRONG!! They then placed a charge of$338.96 on my account. THe CHARGE IS STILL PENDING...I've filed complaints with Corp Best Western but can't get any help. The hotel has 10 days to respond to them. And here I thought we were the customers. This should be criminal. So if you want to give this hotel free reign with your money STAY THERE.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Great location, can walk to everything in town. Park your car when you arrive and walk the rest of your stay. Rooms are nice, large, well decorated. Stayed 2 nights, first night got zero sleep in first floor room. To much noise from floor above, parking lot and sliding doors on upper floor and adjacent rooms. Asked to be moved the next night. 3rd floor less noise but more tolerable. Bed pillow smelled like puke. Staff is unfriendly and very unaccomodating for early check-in. Poorly run as far as room cleaning goes, people are checking out as early as 7:00 a.m. yet they don't have clean rooms available before 3:30. Staff could use lessons in people skills and customer service. Beach front room with swim access to Lake Huron. Don't be suprised by the in room envelopes they leave to tip housekeeping! Screens on the sliding balcony door. Suspicious smell of something like pot when balcony door is open and in the parking lot. Small indoor pool with wide range in depth. Extremely poor Wi-Fi signal in room and not much better in lobby common room. Resort to Resort the Best Western St Ignace is much better and cheaper just no beach/lake access. Highly recommend the Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises, Mackinaw Trolley excursions, and Mackinaw Crossings Laser Light show.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We had a great time at the Best Wester Dockside in Mackinaw. The rooms were very clean, and quiet. We actually got an upgrade, that we did not pay for. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Really nice hotel. Bit pricey but excellent location and a real sand beach. Both families loved that. Bearly used the indoor pool.
Odd door arrangement; you had to go through a secured outer door which opened to a foyer with 2 doors. Your room was either left or right.
Rooms were nice. TV good.
Front staff seemed to be really confused. Slow checkin and when we checked out at 6am, no one to be found. Finally the deskclerk popped up.
Breakfast was good and a nice, open room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Address: 505 S Huron St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.