We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 S Huron St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

But it had a few issues, starting with the desk staff. It was like pulling teeth to get information out of them, they're not the friendliest people there.
Some of the hallways and elevator lobby are rather dark.
The room was good, clean. And so was the bathroom. Some of the rooms have the old "hose" style hairdryers. I hadn't seen those since some of the older hotel rooms in Europe!
Overall, a great place to stay if you're in the area for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and ask for a great view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    132
    64
    46
    30
See reviews for
131
166
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right on the beach so ask for a sea view! Large, comfortable well fitted rooms. A decent breakfast although not amazing. Great indoor pool that we always seemed to have to ourselves!
Handy for the ferries to the island and to a myriad of local restaurants. Only disappointment was the fact that the staff were a little humourless!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for business. I didn't care for my room overlooking the parking lot with a walkway outside my door that allows people walking by to shake the floor and look directly into my room. So it was either sit with the curtain drawn in the middle of the afternoon or have people looking in as they walked by. Cleaning staff constantly yelling to each other across the parking lot and from the upper walkways.
That said, it was probably average for Mackinaw when you pay about $100/night in the summer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the waterside are worth the extra money. Ground floor rooms where you can walk directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stay of 8-12-13-2012, Mackinaw City, MI

Two Nights Stay without reservations. Very nice and clean Top Floor two Queen Bed Room with Couch. Stay here about ten years ago – room looks like recently remodeled. Private Balcony with two chairs and table overlooking the lake. Very peaceful – private beach below – can watch the boats coming and going to Mackinac Island.

Can walk to Shelpers Boat Dock (they take you to Mackinac Island). Hotel has free pick up and drop off service. Downtown Mackinaw is also walkable from this hotel.

Beds were comfortable with more than enough variety of linens and pillows. Ceiling fan over the beds – nice. Air conditioning also works well.

One item that needs improvement – the outer door is hard to shut – you need to slam to close and lock.

I must complement – Judith of the housekeeping staff – she did any excellent job of cleaning room each day. Always very friendly.

Breakfast is served each day in a separate large room overlooking the city and lake. Wonderful selection of both hot and cold foods – Fresh fruit selection, waffle maker, scrambled eggs, sausage, breads, etc. Attendants keep tables clean and food area full.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Checked in but could not understand desk person at all. Got a terrible room with a view of the parking lot and the table for smokers! Yuk! We were very disappointed in this hotel. The breakfast room was crowed and the food was just ok. The people cleaning the tables made me cringe as they cleaned the tables...
Not planning on returning. Best Western needs to look into either having the place renovated or torn down!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemoor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After reading reviews I was feeling hesitant about staying at this property. I stay in Best Westerns for work, all across the country and I decided to try it. At first impression the hotel lobby was just “OK”. Nothing to say wow. The front desk attendant made up for that. She was courteous and efficient with check in. Our room was on the second floor facing the parking lot. Exactly as I picked. No expectations lost. The room itself was clean and well spaced out with sitting area and desk space. Nice to have when staying for 3 nights. Breakfast was a hot hotel breakfast. I don’t understand why guests expect cook to order eggs and fresh squeezed juice for under $100 per night. The savings of $20+ everyday was well spent elsewhere. The pool was clean and not over crowded. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The thing to have now in the hotels in Mac City is a 25' deluxe hot breakfast buffet w/ waffles. This hotel is no exception. The buffet is quite good. The rooms are large and very comfortable. You don't have to sit on the bed to watch t.v. Having a balcony and the waterfront is great. We started out w/ a room on the 1st floor and even that was nice. You can walk right out onto the beach. We never moved our car from the time we first arrived. The hotel is convenient to anywhere you want to go to in Mack City by walking.
We will definitely stay here again next September.
Housekeeping and the front desk were all very nice and very accomodating.

Room Tip: Clean and large comfortable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Address: 505 S Huron St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.