We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would never stay here again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Value Inn to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would never stay here again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

On arrival, the room had a spider web with bugs in it in the corner behind the door, there was a spider on the shower curtain in the bathroom and the coffee pot was dirty. The pool and spa were green, I would not let the kids swim. The second day we left for the day and when we returned, the beds were not made, the floor was not vaccumed and the cleaning staff left three sets of towels even though there were four people registered to the room. The towels were dingy looking and rough. The bed sheets were very worn out. We did complain to the front desk and they were only able to refund us $15 because they could not get ahold of the manager. The girl at the front desk said she had been refunding money all day due to rooms that were not cleaned. The motel does offer free breakfast which was ok the first day, the place was clean and there was a girl there making waffles who was nice and friendly. The second morning, the girl that was making waffles looked like she did not want to be there at all and the waffles were not cooked all the way. We were very glad we only had to stay for two nights and very glad to leave. If we had not arrived so late on the first day, we probably would have looked for another option, however, we were there the week of the holiday and everything else was already booked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. It's unfortunate that you had to experience these things while you were trying to enjoy your vacation. We take these comments and concerns very seriously and it lets us know what we need to do to improve our property. Just to let you know I am the new manager and have taken over since you stayed with us. There have been a lot of changes made and many of the issues have been addressed so I hope that you will give us another chance to make your vacation great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    15
    18
    26
See reviews for
30
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield MI
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were over charged and then the room was dirty and had all kinds of spiders and bugs crawling in the bathroom. Slept with socks on top of bed. Afraid to sleep under dirty blanket, they probably don't change the sheets! YUCK!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect, and I want you to know that we do take your comments and concerns very seriously. I am the new manager and have taken over since you stayed with us. I am doing all I can to improve the property and appreciate all of the input I can get from our guests. It's unfortunate that you didn't have a great experience with us but I do hope that you would give us a chance to make your next vacation in Mackinaw City a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 6/27 to 6/30. The room was clean when we arrived. The bed was /horrible/. It was a Queen, and when my fiance and I were both on it we both rolled towards the middle. We would leave during the day, come back, and discover that the Maids had cleaned. They would throw away whatever soap they had left from the day before, and leave us with no shampoo. The last night they didn't bother leaving anything. They did nab a few of my fiance's beers, however, and our rum was gone a lot faster then what we were drinking it!

Didn't get up in time for the breakfast, but the pool was large. The hottub was hot enough, but the jets don't work. None of the employees would come out to replace towels for the pool area.

The internet access was horrible. 75% of the time we couldn't use it. In general this place is kind of run-down, and the staff seems lazy, and they'll drink your beer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I want to apologize for your stay with us being less than perfect. I have since taken over as the general manager and there has been a complete turn over of the staff because of it. I am doing everything that I can to improve the property and I take the guests comments and experiences very seriously (both good and bad). I hope that with the improvements that I am making you will give us another chance to make your experience in Mackinaw City a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Pros: Curb appeal of the Inn was good. The pool was big, and even though the hot tub jets did not work it was very hot. The room was very big. Breakfast offered a lot of food.

Cons: When we arrived, they did not have our reservation. We booked through booking.com and I had called to confirm right after booking. We drove 4 hours and were told no reservation. It was kind of up in the air until they finally found a print out they had, even though they still did not have our reservation their system. Management was very unprofessional. We waited to be checked-in while she called in her prescription to Wal-mart on her cell phone. The room was outdated, towels were thin, cable was fuzzy, walls were thin... but it's what is to be expected at $40/night. Breakfast had plenty of food, but it was VERY low quality. Stale donuts and biscuits... and they made the waffles with water they got from a laundry sink. :( Also, they offer high speed internet, but it only works on the lobby.

Summary: This place is fine if you know what to expect. If you are willing to risk not having your reservation on file, a little dirt and noise, and just need a place to lay your head..... then this may be the place for you. I will not stay here again.... a little extra $$ is worth a nicer experience. :)

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi_mackcity, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
First I would like to apologize for all the trouble that you had while you were supposed to be enjoying your vacation. There is no excuse for the things that you experienced especially during checking in. There are times that the paperwork gets misplaced but there is no reason that your reservation shouldn't have been entered into the system. I can assure you that the behavior of the staff is unacceptable and with the turn over of the staff since you stayed with us that will not happen again. I personally, take your comments very seriously and do all that I can to make the changes necessary to be sure that someone else won't have to have the same things happen. I hope that with the changes I have made you would give us another chance to make your vacation a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here for one night, and it was a neat, clean hotel. No frills, but a decent place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Cant beat it for the price. A good overall value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Over priced, noisy with overhead walkways. Room was in need of remodeling.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is the cheapest Hotel in Mackinaw City i guess we got what we payed for. The room was decent actually very clean no complaints on that. Then when we went to turn the air on it was BROKEN! Some of the workers at the front desk are not helpful at all. So we ended up sleeping the whole night with no air and it being 70 degrees outside, VERY UNCOMFORTABLE!!! Then to top it off there was a wedding party outside until 3AM partying, drinkin and being very loud. Front desk didnt do a darn thing! WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!!!! SERIOUSLY PAY THE EXTRA MONEY TO STAY SOMEWHERE ALOT NICER.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 112 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.