We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Want Night Shots, GO HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse

Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse
207 W Sinclair St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
231 436 4100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If You Want Night Shots, GO HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Plenty of parking, and a few great angles for those looking for a lighthouse/bridge photograph for their collection. Also, the lot is open at night making it easy to pull in and walk down to the beach for night time exposures.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    57
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“a good stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a good stop if you have extra time. Otherwise, not much to see and an hour should be enough. The park would be good in a nice day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flatwoods, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful area to visit around the site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lake Huron is a beautiful area and the history of the area is bountiful. This is our 1st visit to the area and we would come back again. The lighthouse has been well maintained and the guides are willing to make it a memorable experience. Take the time to walk to the top and enjoy the view !!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Another lighthouse tower climb checked off the list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sometime between our last trip to the straits in 2005 and now this lighthouse's refurbishing was completed and opened to the public. Knowing that before we left home it was on my list of places to hit this trip.
As luck would have it we'd planned on visiting the fort during the morning hours, but intermittent rain postponed that until the afternoon so while I waited for the sun to return I decided to make my visit here.
After paying my $6.50 (well worth it) I spent some time in the gift shop which had lots of nice stuff, but being a T-shirt collector I was disappointed not to be able to find a single short sleeved shirt in my size. A hazard of coming late in the season I suppose.
Once I got to the lighthouse itself I took my time going from room to room, reading all the display materials and photographing the different rooms. Somehow I failed to discover in advance that there is an actually person, dressed up in lighthouse keeper gear, that takes you up the tower to check out the view. While we were up there he shared many interesting factoids regarding the light itself and shipwrecks that lay thruout the straits area. Great stuff! My only regret was not thinking quick enough to ask the keeper for a pic in front of the fresnel lens. He was off and gone on another tour.
I'd definitely recommend taking the time to visit this lighthouse the next time you're in Mackinaw City.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Walk to the top..................and just look!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful lighthouse and cute gift shop and an awesome walking and picnic park to enjoy the big mac. History is presented well here and treat yourself and family to group tickets to be sure to take in all this area has to offer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.