We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.

Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.
131 S Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
231 436 9825
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Lower Michigan
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Pretty cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went as it was something my husband was interested in. I have to admit it was far more interesting than I thought it would be.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    36
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

the boat tour was cool. when you have a child with you, they get a piece of paper to find the answer to the questions that they ask you. it was fun for all ages. When the tour is complete she handed it in and got some neat things.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerwagb83, General Manager at Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc., responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We're glad that you liked the Scavenger Hunt - it has been a real hit with everyone this year. It is fun and educational for the entire family. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not our cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I feel bad giving this a 3. We were excited to see what this place was all about and take a look at a real ship because I'm not sure when that opportunity will come up again. But, this ended up not being what we expected. We were thinking it would be a museum, and it was in a way. But really you just end up walking around the ship. There was a docent in the engine room, but we know nothing about engines so the information when right over our heads. It ended taking us about a hour to tour the whole thing, with lots of ladders and very steep stairs. I can't say it was a complete waste of time, but didn't hold our interest. (woman age 35, daughter age 11).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerwagb83, Manager at Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc., responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for including the Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum in your activities while in Mackinaw City. The ship museum is a decommissioned ship that has been intentionally left very close to what it would be like if you were to come aboard it while it was still active. The nature of this ship is indeed narrow passageways and steep stairs. Sadly, they build ships for their USCG purpose and not for our future tour use. It is a little challenging yet many find it part of the appeal.

From the berthing area, galley, mess deck, sick bay, Captain's Quarters, pilothouse and more, we strive to make the tour appealing to as many as possible. Unfortunately, we fell short of being a venue that met your expectations. Though with the awarding of our recent Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence", we have to many others.

Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention. We continue to work at making this an enjoyable and informative experience.

Lisa Pallagi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake County, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What A Tour of An Icebreaker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A well maintained ship with very knowledgeable people. A lot of interesting information about the ship's mechanics, it's innovation, and it's function.
A remarkable exhibit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was very informative about the history of Lake Huron & Mackinaw City and American history. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc. also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.