We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 'Neath the Birches

'Neath the Birches
14277 N Mackinaw Hwy, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
231 436 5401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 47 Restaurants in Mackinaw City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We went here in June to celebrate our anniversary; it was my parents' 50th and our 2nd. We had a great meal and wonderful service. All the members of staff stopped by to wish us a happy anniversary and the owner comped dessert for all hour of us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Angelviking,

Happy Anniversary to everyone who was there. It is always our pleasure to make people special occasions special. Thanks for the great review.

Sincerely,

Vern Hiar, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service out of the tourist area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went there based on other reviews and was not disappointed. We had five people including two grandchildren. The prime rib was excellent, as was the walleye. Service could not have been better. Salad bar was great, and pricing was very fair. My granddaughter wanted the fettuccine alfredo but with chicken instead of the shrimp listed on the menu and it was done with mom issues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
David,

I am glad you and your family had such a great time. Thank you for the great review. We strive to provide the best for our customers and we really enjoy the fact that you have taken the time to let everyone know what a good experience you had. Hurry back and bring your friends we will be ready to accommodate.

Sincerely,

Vern Hiar, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good buffet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ate dinner here with a Diamond Tour bus tour last night and the meal was fantastic! Salad bar was good and dinner buffet offered lots of steaming hot choices. My favorite was the mashed redskin potatoes, whitefish and shrimp. I think the loaves of bread were homemade and they were very tasty. The blackberry merlot wine was good. Servers were friendly and efficient. A good dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Ken M,

Yes the loaves of bread were homemade. I am glad you enjoyed your evening. It is our pleasure to provide great food and atmosphere for our guests. Hurry back for some more good food.

Sincerely,


Vern Hiar, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We would never have just found this place without previous reviews on tripadvisor because its not on the main roads in Mackinaw city but so glad we did go. The food and service was really good and once they found out it was our anniversary they even brought us a small cake at the end of the meal. Would go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Lynne,

Happy Anniversary once again. Also I want to thank you for the nice review. The next time you make it MC, be sure to stop in and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cudos to 'Neath the Birches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate at 'Neath the Birches on August 1. We had eaten at this restaurant 30 years ago on our anniversary and took friends their this year to celebrate their anniversary. It was every bit as good as in the past. We had excellent food and great service. Three of the 6 of us had Walleye that was caught in the local Great Lakes. All said it was excellent. I had the Herb Chicken on a bed of rice and it was delicious. They even served the anniversary couple a small cake for their anniversary. We will be back to this place when we are in the area!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vghjr012, Manager at 'Neath the Birches, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
jstevens23,

Thank you. We strive to make everyone's meal and event memorable. We look forward to your return. Hopefully you will make it an anniversary event yearly this time. Once again Happy Anniversary and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'Neath the Birches also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to 'Neath the Birches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 'Neath the Birches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.