We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper Club Atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 'Neath the Birches

'Neath the Birches
14277 N Mackinaw Hwy, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
231 436 5401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 48 Restaurants in Mackinaw City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sebewaing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Supper Club Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice salad bar. Huge windows in nature setting. Prices were average. Had large fantail shrimp, very good. Whitefish was very thin and okay, but not great. Recommended by a worker at one of the local shops.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We found this restaurant on Yelp. It's only 5 minutes outside of the city. The decor is dates (1970s), but reminded me of my youth in Michigan and going out on "fancy" dinners. The food was good. The staff, owner, and chef were very friendly. There were only 3-4 sets of people in the restaurant and we were all talking without each other. It was a great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Neat quiet setting reveals secret.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I ate here last night for our 4th anniversary. This is the 3rd year we have ate here for our anniversary.
Food comes out quick and prepared as orders. Service is friendly. Place has been open 40+ years and is set right off the highway about 1/2 mile south of town. Building is very spacious with plenty of windows to take in the scenery of the trees and nature. Wood paneling and tables and chairs reminds me of what it was like to go out to eat back when it was a treat to do so instead of an every day thing.
Salad bar is well stocked and plenty to eat from it.
They gave us a free cake for our anniversary and take home box for us to eat on at the motel.
This is my favorite place to eat when we vacation here and look forward to going back again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I loved my meal there. The service was super. The buffet was well maintained with lots of choices. I loved the ice cream and drinks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ate here last weekend. We have eaten here before and it was very good. Should have been a clue when there was only one other table filled while we were there. It was 5:30 on a Saturday night. My husband and I both ordered prime rib. It was over $22.00 each. It look gray and very tough not at all what I expected. It was the worst prime rib I have ever had. I will not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'Neath the Birches also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to 'Neath the Birches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 'Neath the Birches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.