We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cabins & great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals to your Saves list
Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals
10346 US 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great cabins & great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We decided to stay at Mackinac Mill Campground based on the recommendation of a friend. Mackinac Mill didn't have 2 cabins next to each other so we had cabins at the Lakefront Cabin rentals. (These are owned/managed by MMC.) You check in at MMC and have access to all the amenties there. (Although it is a little ways up the road). The cabins were very nice. It seemed like they had been updated lately. Everything was clean. There was a microwave and refrigerator. They were very spacious even for 4 adults sleeping in them. There are only 15 cabins at Lakefront so it was very quiet. The caretaker was very nice and on-site often. Free coffee beginning at 5:30am. There are grills that are available to be pulled over to your cabin. There are 2 community bonfires on the beach that get lit at night. Great view of the bridge and the island! I have stayed at Mackinac City hotels and not only were the cabins nicer than most of the hotel rooms available but also at a much better rate. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a cabin for three night in June for my wife and my ten year weeding aniversary and it was just amazing. The cabin was perfect for what we needed and the price was even better. I would just say that the tv could have been in a better place. It was right over the bed so you couldn't lay in bed and watch tv. The view was one of the best. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was such a cute little cabin. The view from the lakeshore was beautiful. They had grills you could barrow. Not to many people the weekend I went so it was nice and quite. Very peaceful location. Even had a nature trail. Bonfires down on the lakeshore at night. Nice to stay out of the busy city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had high hopes for renting a cabin here after reading positive reviews on tripadvisor. Their website brags about having a bonfire every night with snacks. Our first night on a Friday no bonfire. The second night still no bonfire. I ended up starting my own fire minus the snacks. The mattress was hard as a rock. Every morning both of us woke up with pain in our back, hips, and shoulders. I should have brought an air mattress to put on top of the bed. On top of everything else our microwave was defective. We tried to heat up some water in a plastic cup and saw sparks and a loud hum. After that we never used the microwave again for fear of burning down our cabin. The built in electric heater worked good and kept our cabin warm. The coffee house is a good idea for those who drink coffee. It would be nice if they offered hot chocolate for those of us who dont.

By the time Sunday morning arrived, we couldnt pack our bags fast enough and leave. They should invest in foam mattress toppers since not everyone likes feeling as if they slept on a concrete slab. Thats too bad since the location is excellent. You can see the bridge and even the Grand Hotel from the property. Will we ever return ? No. We would have slept better inside a tent with an air mattress. I thought Motel 6 and Red Roof Inn have hard mattresses. These cabins have them beat. We saw no cookies or bonfires or snacks like other reviewers wrote about which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Bring an air mattress or mattress topper to put on top of your bed unless you enjoy back pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, Owner at Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I see no mention in your review of the unmatched spectacular lakefront view. We wish you had given our office a call, rather than having been inconvenienced and then complained online. We have staff on call 24/7. The microwaves and all the appliances are brand new this season. We want to know if something is out of order and we would have replaced the microwave within the hour if we had been notified. At this point, after your complaint, we still don't know which of the 16 cabins had the problem with the microwave as you did not tell us when you were here. We do have nightly bonfires. However the past two weekends (which is when I assumed you were here) have been rainy, so we did not just start a bonfire. The wood was there if you wanted to start a bonfire yourself. or we would have been happy to start the fire for you if you had let the office know that you were hearty souls ready to brave the wind and rain. We don't like to start an unattended fire if it is unlikely that someone will enjoy it. Lets be clear, we are new owners who have taken over this property just this year. We acquired this property from the previous owners last October and spend the winter completely renovating it. The previous owners did make fresh cookies, but they also were renting cabins with mismatched furniture, old stained carpeting, and leaky windows that had not been remodeled in practically 40 years. We put our emphasis on updating the resort. We remodeled the cabins with new wood floors, appliances, handmade furniture, completely refinished all the vintage knotty wood pine, replaced the windows, added FREE high speed wifi, completely new electric wiring and heat, as well as flat screen TV's etc. We don't advertise fresh cookies, and am sorry if old reviews mentioned them and disappointed your expectations,. After our huge investment in renovation it is disappointing to have you post a complaint about something that we did not advertise or offer (fresh cookies). We have not way to change or control old reviews on the web. Yes we replaced all the worn out old mattresses with brand new ones that we can sanitize between guests. We have guests with serious allergies so we take sanitization very seriously. These tend to be a firmer mattress - I also like a softer mattress, and I think it is a good recommendation to let people know to bring something soft if they like a softer pillow top type experience. If you had two person cabin you paid about $59 a night for a newly remodeled lakefront cabin on a shoreline with an amazing view of the Mackinac Bridge and Mackinac Island. Maybe you did not realize that this was a great value. Lets be real here, I have stayed in hotels, motel, etc. across the country, nearly all of which offer coffee in the morning as we do. I don't see people who don't drink coffee complaining online that they didn't have hot chocolate as an alternative? There is hot water available in the lakefront bridgeview coffee house. I bring tea when I travel because I don't expect it to be provided. I would recommend you bring hot chocolate mix if you want to have it available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at The Lakefront Cabins. They are incredibly organized and ready to serve you !! They are newly updated and very clean cabins. The cabin we had is very small but perfect for 2 people. Nice size bathroom and shower. The only 2 complaints that we had was that there was really no storage and The TV is up way to high. All tough we wasn't in our cabin much so we really didn't mind to much. I sure wouldn't let that stand in our way from returning to the Lakefront Cabins. It is very quiet and the Lakeview is just outside your door and just a short walk to the water. The Lakefront staff make sure they come every night and light the campfire and we thought that was awesome and a great touch! They have grills and grill tools for cooking stored in a little coral so you can go and pick your own grill out. Amazing Idea!! They also have a small cabin just for coffee that they come and make every morning. THANK YOU for a great 3 days and we will make sure we are able to stay longer next year. Until then keep up the great work..... Your doing it just right !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unbelievable view and super friendly couple run this resort. I highly recommend it to all who enjoy the our of doors experience. Owner makes cookies for Sunday mornings. Bridge view and beach are terrific.

Room Tip: Camp fires on the beach at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was the 15th (or so) Labor Day Weekend that we have spent at Mackinac Motor Lodge & Resort. Just 2 miles south of Mackinaw City, with all the peace and quiet of being far from town. The beach provides a full unobstructed view of the Mackinac Bridge - beautifully lit at night. The accommodations are what you would expect for the area and price range. We have always been taken excellent care of. Coffee in the beach house all day, handy and complimentary. Home baked cookies on Sunday mornings. Bonfire on the beach every night. Grills and utensils are provided should you decide to use them. We have stayed in the larger cabin (with a group) and we have stayed a number of times in the motel (nearer the highway). But we are back to our favorite - a cozy 2-person cabin right on the water's edge. We couldn't be happier!!

Room Tip: The motel has a bit of highway noise, but nice rooms. The cabins are closer to the water and the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals

Address: 10346 US 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a cabin rental on the shores of beautiful Lake Huron at our family friendly resort just outside of Mackinaw City. Featuring sixteen modern cabins and shaded RV sites. With magnificent views of the Mackinac Bridge & Mackinac Island and 400 feet of lake frontage. All our cabins have been recently remodeled and include a color television, ceiling fan, microwave and mini-fridge. Free coffee is available each morning at our lakeside gazebo, along with a nightly bonfire, free shuttle service to the Mackinac Island Ferry's and free Wi-Fi. Sorry, no pets and no smoking. Reservations accepted, open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackinac Lakefront Cabin Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.