We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...filthy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House to your Saves list
The Beach House
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   11490 W. US 23, P.O. Box 141, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Adrian, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed...filthy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just visited 8-23 Dirty!!! Very outdated, small updates & cleaning would have made a huge difference! Awful pillows, The owner (man) could use a class in customer service & hospitality, he was extremely rude. Should offer more than muffins for breakfast. The indoor pool was freezing, the only good thing about this place was it being right on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I had a week to ourselves with kids and headed to Mackinaw. We stayed in a cottage at The Beach House and really enjoyed it. The cottage was very simple - a bed, small TV and a small bathroom, but it suited us very well. We spent the days out and about so only needed a place to sleep at night. We enjoyed walking on the beach and had a very nice picnic on the beach as well. The staff were very very friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows not so much. Good thing we had our own. Getting the temperature right in the shower became a game, but was OK. I you just want a place to sleep at night and a fairly nice little beach to enjoy in the Mackinaw area, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are right on the beach, some are behind them, landward, so make sure you know w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We just had a wonderful time at the Beach House. Roasting marshmellows on the beach, swimming in Lake Huron, wonderful view of the Bridge, clean, owners very friendly and beautiful landscaping. Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We love this place. This was our second yr to stay. We won't stay any other place but here, have been coming every year to Mackinaw city now for 6 yrs. Have stayed many places but this is the best by far. The owners are very personable and care about your needs and want you to have a good stay. You can build a fire on the beach at night and sit by the water and sun during the day. Shopping is just down the road. Always sad to leave but we know we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamtramck, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I try to get up here at least once a year. We LOVE the cottages and the owners are amazing! I almost wonder if some of the "bad" reviews are rival cottage/hotel owners but that's just a hunch. We have come here alone and have also brought family and everyone loved it. I will not stay anywhere else in Mackinaw. I've even passed up a chance to stay on the island to stay here. it's my little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This places is off the beaten path, the cottages are so charming, the grounds are beautiful ! You have the lake front, fire pit at night and they supply the wood and anything else that is needed. They have a pool and jazzi. Its not the Hilton but if your looking for the laid back cozy feel and not the big corporation. This is perfect! ( and the owners I can't say enough about! the two of them are the most amazing people, so accommodating!) Pricing fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The cottage I stayed in was very cute. It surely wasn't the newest, it was like spending the night at my grandmother's house. None-the-less, it was very nice. The beds were big and comfortable. The swimming pool was nice. It was very quaint. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 11490 W. US 23, P.O. Box 141, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.