We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple good food, fantastic service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cunningham's Family Restaurant

Cunningham's Family Restaurant
312 E Central Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9801
231-436-8821
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 45 restaurants in Mackinaw City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simple good food, fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was simple, but very good. We had a chef salad, pastie, and sliders. All were good. All were simply prepared. It was like eating at home. The service was super. They were very busy, but were very kind, and very friendly. The decor is a bit dated, but it is like going to a small town, family restaurant. That is exactly what it is!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    61
    49
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flatwoods, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I checked to see if my Mother was in the kitchen preparing the meal. I am sorry to say she was not, but the lunch was just like home. The soup and pies are their "special treats", but the waitresses treated everyone like they were their special guests. The hostess was the best as she multi-tasked to handle the busy lunch crowd.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

awful food greasy fishy and soggy, wasted $40 spend it someplace else, Or donate to the homeless, would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Average meal but pretty good dessert.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We chose Cunningham’s Family Restaurant for dinner in July. We had eaten here on our very first visit to Mackinaw City in 1999. We thought we should eat a meal of traditional dishes for this area so we ordered a pastie and a whitefish dinner. Other than our side salads, we split our food so that we could each have some of both. The food was good but not noteworthy. In my mind, a pastie has nothing over a good pot pie. The whitefish was good but I would take tilapia or mahi mahi, given the choice. However we each had a slice of pie for dessert - fruit pie for my wife and coconut cream for me - very good. With tax and gratuity: 46 bucks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh fish was wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ordered the local whitefish special and it was cooked just right! Delicious. While the atmosphere is more of a local diner, it was great to people watch out the window as I ate my dinner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cunningham's Family Restaurant also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Cunningham's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cunningham's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.