We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tee Pee Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tee Pee Campground
Save
You added Tee Pee Campground to your Saves list
11262 W. US 23, P.O. Box 10, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently rented a motor home and travelled across Michigan. This was our second stop and was a very good experience for our family. Great view of the bridge, friendly staff, nice playground. Only thing missing is a beach in the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Very clean bathrooms!! Excellent view of the bridge! Very quiet! Kids loved the playground!! Campsites are very nice and there are different sizes. Owners are wonderful! Not far from the main drag either!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,Mi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my 2nd stay here and it has adequate facilities. The staff are friendly and not overbearing. We plan on camping here more often as the location is nice and close to Mackinaw City. It has a small beach area and playground for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a space with a view of the Mackinac Bridge. There are several nice spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My first stay at TeePee grounds happened 20 years ago on a rain night riding s VW Trike. I had attemped to stay at other campgrounds in the area and was turned away because I was riding a motorcycle, I forgot to tell you I am a paraplegic and was looking for somewhere to get warm and Gene and his family welcome me and my son to their campground. Because of their generiousity and nice campsites and wonderful view of the Mackinaw Bridge I have made it a point to camp at TeePee every summer. So if you're looking for a place to camp try TeePee Campgrounds and start a famiy tradition like I did. Thanks for all the Good Times, Greg and Judy

Room Tip: call early for reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Only there 2 nights. Called ahead almost 2 months in advance to reserve then when I got there they didn't have our reservation (and they accidentally billed us for the both days at the time of reservation). Location goodband our specific site was excellent (right across from the lake). Without that site, not sure if I would stay. Facilities average cleanliness. Camp store fair and somewhat expensive. Close to downtown and ferries.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Sites were not bad, but the Website was a little miss leading when you read fire rings on all site with water and electric. They fail to tell you that you share that with 4 other campers and there is no water pressure. The bathhouse is clean and the owners are very friendly but the water in the showers had no pressure and the water was hot then cold and if you did have hot it didn't stay that way very long especially if someone flushed a toilet.
We did not spend alot of time at the campground since it wasn't what it was suppose to be according to the website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

even better than our last visit!! we try to visit the Tee Pee campground every year. cause we know we will always receive a warm welcome from all of the Cooley family, from check-in to check-out all the staff makes our stay wonderful. from the well kept grounds, to the spotless bathrooms/showers. we always enjoy when the staff drives through the campground, and stop for a quick chat, and to make sure all is well with us.

the beach is also awesome, for being the straits of mackinaw, its shallow enough for great swimming, a good place to spend most of the day with our grandchild, i mean.....will be spending with our grandchild (we are expecting this December) for now my husband spends 1-2 hours a day snorkeling, and then closing the day with a bonfire on the beach (which is also provided by the Tee Pee campground)

so don't let another camping season slip by, without visiting the Tee Pee campground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tee Pee Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tee Pee Campground

Address: 11262 W. US 23, P.O. Box 10, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tee Pee Campground is a peaceful park with an amazing view. Check in, set up camp, then relax and enjoy your vacation. From Tents, to 5th Wheels, to Large R.V.'s, we have the perfect site for you. The Cooley Family has been making friends here since 1969. Please consider booking your stay with us while visiting this beautiful and historic area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tee Pee Campground Hotel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tee Pee Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.