We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tee Pee Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tee Pee Campground
11262 W. US 23, P.O. Box 10, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Marion,Mi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Family Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my 2nd stay here and it has adequate facilities. The staff are friendly and not overbearing. We plan on camping here more often as the location is nice and close to Mackinaw City. It has a small beach area and playground for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a space with a view of the Mackinac Bridge. There are several nice spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grant, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My first stay at TeePee grounds happened 20 years ago on a rain night riding s VW Trike. I had attemped to stay at other campgrounds in the area and was turned away because I was riding a motorcycle, I forgot to tell you I am a paraplegic and was looking for somewhere to get warm and Gene and his family welcome me and my son to their campground. Because of their generiousity and nice campsites and wonderful view of the Mackinaw Bridge I have made it a point to camp at TeePee every summer. So if you're looking for a place to camp try TeePee Campgrounds and start a famiy tradition like I did. Thanks for all the Good Times, Greg and Judy

Room Tip: call early for reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Only there 2 nights. Called ahead almost 2 months in advance to reserve then when I got there they didn't have our reservation (and they accidentally billed us for the both days at the time of reservation). Location goodband our specific site was excellent (right across from the lake). Without that site, not sure if I would stay. Facilities average cleanliness. Camp store fair and somewhat expensive. Close to downtown and ferries.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Sites were not bad, but the Website was a little miss leading when you read fire rings on all site with water and electric. They fail to tell you that you share that with 4 other campers and there is no water pressure. The bathhouse is clean and the owners are very friendly but the water in the showers had no pressure and the water was hot then cold and if you did have hot it didn't stay that way very long especially if someone flushed a toilet.
We did not spend alot of time at the campground since it wasn't what it was suppose to be according to the website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

even better than our last visit!! we try to visit the Tee Pee campground every year. cause we know we will always receive a warm welcome from all of the Cooley family, from check-in to check-out all the staff makes our stay wonderful. from the well kept grounds, to the spotless bathrooms/showers. we always enjoy when the staff drives through the campground, and stop for a quick chat, and to make sure all is well with us.

the beach is also awesome, for being the straits of mackinaw, its shallow enough for great swimming, a good place to spend most of the day with our grandchild, i mean.....will be spending with our grandchild (we are expecting this December) for now my husband spends 1-2 hours a day snorkeling, and then closing the day with a bonfire on the beach (which is also provided by the Tee Pee campground)

so don't let another camping season slip by, without visiting the Tee Pee campground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Wonderful little campground just outside of Mackinac City! We had running water & electricity at our site and we bonded with our surrounding neighbors. The couple across from us got engaged and it was nice to be a part of that happy occasion. 4th of July fireworks were right there at the beach campground and we had a totally amazing view of the Mackinac Bridge fireworks, St. Ignace, Cheboygan, & Mackinac Island off in the distance--all from one beach:) Nice place to stay if you get the urge to camp!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed at the Tee Pee campground in June. We found the staff to be very friendly. We liked the convenience of the store onsite, as well as the availability of firewood and ice.

The grounds were maintained and the bathhouse was clean. Some of the sites were a little small. The campground's overall location was great relative to the ferry docks for the Island. The view of the bridge was great!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tee Pee Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tee Pee Campground

Also Known As:
Tee Pee Campground Hotel
Tee Pee Campground Hotel Mackinaw City
Address: 11262 W. US 23, P.O. Box 10, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tee Pee Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tee Pee Campground to your Saves list