We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and solid service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darrow's Family Restaurant

Darrow's Family Restaurant
301 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701f
231-436-5514
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Cheboygan, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food and solid service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place gets very busy, but the food and service are great. Try off times and you will be satisfied with any breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    180
    55
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing whitefish, pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

A friend and I visited Darrow's last Saturday evening, based on trip advisor reviews. It did not disappoint! We showed up at about 7:45, and were seated right away. The restaurant is nothing fancy, just looks like your typical family diner, but we did take note of how clean everything was.

I was torn between ordering the broasted chicken special and the broiled whitefish, but in the end, ordered the fish. It was the BEST fish I've ever had in a restaurant! I can't really say the salad was anything special, or the mashed potatoes (although they are real potatoes), but oh my gosh the FISH is amazing!

As stuffed as we were after our dinners, we decided to try a piece of their famous pie. Our original plan was to try the banana creme, but they were out so we went with the peanut butter, and it was perfect. So creamy and delicious, I will be dreaming of that pie for a long time to come.

All in all I would DEFINITELY visit again, I cannot wait until next time!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude Service , Rude Manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We ordered a garlic cheeseburger with no mayo, Add mustard they gave us a regular cheeseburger with mayo,

I ordered a chicken cordon blue and they added mustard to it,

I told the manager and she said what do you want me to do and walked away!!! WTH

Do not eat here very rude!!! No customer service!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“#1 for a Reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We ate here based on a recommendation from the hotel we stayed at and weren't disappointed! Awesome food, awesome service. We ate here for dinner. The Whitefish was great! They have a great selection of delicious homemade pies!

One hint on located it. It is located west of I-75. Take Central (the main east-west street in town) under the Interstate and then turn right on Louvingney.

We will definitely eat here again on our next trip to Mackinac Island.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It`s always excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have ben eating at Darrow`s to many years to remember but at least 40 years when we come up to Mackinaw City. We ate here 4 times this trip and if you are looking for excellant home cooked food and excellant service and a fair price for breakfast , lunch , and supper this is by far the best place to eat . But if you are looking for a cold beer and night life you need to go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrow's Family Restaurant also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Darrow's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darrow's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.