We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and quick!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darrow's Family Restaurant

Darrow's Family Restaurant
301 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701f
231-436-5514
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Laurium, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy and quick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We went here for lunch on a Wednesday, and the food was excellent, and the service was beyond fast. The pies looked excellent, but by the time we had our food, we were too full.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    180
    55
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The wait in line was long, but the fact there was a line on a week night tells you how good the food is. The place was packed! The fried fish was very good. I preferred the Walleye to the Whitefish, simply because the walleye had a firmer texture than the whitefish, but both were good. My daughter, the coleslaw hater, finished her entire bowl of the sweet & sour coleslaw (much to my disappointment because I was hoping to eat her bowl too!) We did not eat any pie, but they looked fantastic. This place is definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Great food-slow service. Took 20 min to get drinks.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Local favorite, good food at good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Off the main drag this local family restaurant is worth the extra mile and short wait in line.
Good food, large portions, friendly service, and family atmosphere. Come for dinner, stay for the pie. Popular with the locals, so must be consistent and a safe bet.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Mackinaw Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was the best place to eat at in Mackinaw City. The food was so good, staff was friendly, everything is made homemade with all that considered the price is great too! If you are going to Mackinaw City eat at this restaurant you will not be disappointed, unlike some of the other overpriced places.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrow's Family Restaurant also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Darrow's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darrow's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.