We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have found the gem of Mackinaw City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Save
You added Lamplighter Motel to your Saves list
303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“We have found the gem of Mackinaw City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We could not have been more pleased. Our theme room, "Somewhere in Time," was cozy and wonderfully charming and romantic. It was also clean, clean, clean! Service was outstanding with a personal touch. The area was quiet at night and very restful. Yet, we were only three short blocks from the ferry to Mackinac Island, two blocks from the shopping and restaurant area and three or four from the lighthouse and the colonial fort. Everything was super convenient and easily accessible by foot and bicycle, so we hardly used our car.

The owner gave us a safe and secluded place to lock our bikes. But, if I had to find one area for possible improvement, I would suggest a bike rack -- covered would be fantastic! In this very bicycle friendly and accessible city, that would make the Lamplighter just about perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Just returned home from a trip to Mackinaw City. Chose Lamplighter Motel due to previous reviews. Found motel to be very clean, very quiet. A nice place to relax after a day sightseeing. Room and bathroom were a bit small, but not a bother since we didnt spend much time in room. Bed was comfortable. Owner was very friendly and helpful with recommendations on things to do. Lamplighter is a pet friendly motel so we were able to bring our dog with us on vacation. Nice park near motel was great for exercising dog. Wireless internet was also a plus

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Lamplighter is very well groomed. The owner's are very nice and helpful. Making sure you have everything you need. They also welcome your pet as long as you are watchful of your animals actions. Terry Loved Riley:) Riley had some pretty good treats during his stay. The room was perfectly clean and decorated with a dragonfly theme. I enjoyed my stay and meeting both Jen and Terry. Halloween in Mackinaw City is a pretty big thing . We enjoyed watching all the gobblins, witches, ghosts and vampires visit the inn for the spooky treat. All in costume, the Lamplighter greeted there visitors with a treat. I had a great stay. I would recommend this Motel to all my friends. And a camp fire is always a great time. My family totally enjoyed there visit also. Thank you Jen and Terry. CCoyer and Riley

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We had been to Mackinaw City before, and always stayed at one of the "big box" hotel/motels. Never did we come away feeling that we had very good customer service, and frankly Mackinaw City has been the only city that made us feel that way. We have come to learn that one family in town owns mostly all the "big-box" places.
So THIS time we went with a smaller, family owned unit. We could not have been more pleased. Yes the rooms were older and smaller, but they have been freshened up, and very well cared for. The mattresses were comfy, and we slept very well.
The cool part though was the fact that the owners Terry and Jennifer always are striving to make your stay more enjoyable. We were never wanting for anything. The bonfires at night that Terry set were a wonderful way to congregate and meet new friends, and just generally relax and veg out. Name me another motel owner there that will do that for his/her guests. For two consecutive "perfect weather" evenings we sat out with Terry, had a brew or two, and marveled at the International Space Station and Shuttle passing overhead in a crystal-clear night sky. THAT is an owner who cares how your trip turns out.
Oh, another thing...after too many luke-warm soggy breakfasts in those big motel b'fast rooms, we found that we like it just fine if the motel does NOT offer b'fast. You can go to the restaurant of your choice for some REAL food at that point.
Do yourself a favor and try out The Lamplighter Motel. You will be amazed how you may have forgotten what it really takes to make an enjoyable, restful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Quiet location away from other hotels, but within walking distance of shoreline parks and lighthouse. Across the street from a nice little City playground that's great for kids. Very friendly owner, family like atmosphere. Nice groundskeeping, clean, and creative room decor. However both grounds and rooms are quite small. Our 2-room suite did have two rooms but only a few square feet of open floor space. It was nice to put the kids in a separate room, but still a little cramped. Overall a very nice independent hotel for a couple or small family, if for a few nights and if you're not spending much time in the room, which you probably won't in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I have been staying at the Lamplighter Motel since Terry & Jennifer Davis bought it in 1996. The Motel was built in the 1950's and Terry has remodeled every room. Most rooms follow a particular theme and our favorite room is the Somewhere in Time room. It is decorated in a Victorian setting based on the "Somewhere in Time" movie. The rooms tend to be small but we only stay in them for sleeping and they are very clean. The rates are reasonable. The location of the motel is perfect. It is in a residential neighborhood and is only a few blocks from downtown and the Mackinac Bridge. Terry & Jennifer have always made us feel at home. When the weather permits, they have a campfire at night and everyone sits around the campfire and chats. When it is time to leave, you feel you have had a relaxing vacation. I have found the people who stay there quite friendly. The rooms tend to be quiet so you get a good night's sleep. My husband and I have enjoyed the Lamplighter Motel so much that we will continue to stay there when we come to Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The good: Comfortable bed, quiet neighborhood, everything worked.

The bad: Bathroom was like a closet. You could hardly turn around. There was no room to lay out your toiletries. There is a ¼” chip in the porcelain bathtub and there were traces of mildew in the cracks in the shower. Lighting in room was minimal at best. My wife said it seemed like a fisherman’s cabin.

Either I missed something or those who gave rave reviews on Trip Advisor were smoking something at the time they wrote their reviews. If this was truly rated #1 in Mackinaw City by TA, I would hate to see what the other motel/hotels look like. This place is highly overrated and deserves, at best, a minimum two-star AAA rating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.