We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Save
You added Lamplighter Motel to your Saves list
303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Georgia
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Great place to stay. It was very clean. Only about two blocks to town and the lake. Terry keeps the place in A++++ condtion.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
52
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

I stayed at The Lamplighter Motel based on the previous reviews on this website and was not disappointed in the least. The grounds were immaculate and the efficiency I had was more than adequate for my needs. With gas prices being what they are, it was nice to be able to park the vehicle and walk to everything. Terry, the owner, was wonderful and if you needed anything, he got it done and always with a smile. And yes, he actually has fires at night. So nice to sit around the fire with other guests and just relax. If you don't need a waterpark, pool, big buffet breakfast, etc., this is the place to stay. Should the opportunity arise where I can return to the Mackinaw City area, I will definitely stay here. Well done, Terry!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

Quite a delay in this review, but my wife and I arranged a last minute trip to reward ourselves over Memorial Day weekend. We spent many weekends at Mackinaw and decided that we would based our choice of motels on price, since most of our time would be out exploring. This was our first pleasant surprise: the motel was about half the price of all others. We checked TripAdvisor and saw a good review or two of The Lamplighter so we booked the room. I was leery about the place because of the low price, the fact that it was an older motel and the thought that the themed rooms would be tacky, but upon arrival the nice surprises continued. As others have mentioned, the owners were extremely friendly, helpful and very nice people. There is not a better location in the area: two blocks to the Sheppler dock and two blocks to the main street, and located on a quiet sidestreet. We had a theme room: ours was decorated in a garden motif and really was tastefully done using some clever ideas. Additionally, this was probably the cleanest room I've ever had and the grounds were impeccable! I don't think it was this neat the day it opened! It got to the point where I joked with my wife about the conditions and started out to prove to her that the place wasn't perfect; the best I could do was an extremely small chip in the paint on the sign (and I wouldn't doubt if that were repaired the day we left!)
I normally avoid superlatives, but this place earns them. We mingled with some other guests, and all of them were repeat customers; they all felt as we did and confirmed our observations. The best evidence of the good value is that this place had no vacancies, yet all the other properties in the area had plenty of rooms.
There are only two drawbacks that I can think of. First, our room was smaller than most that we've had elsewhere, but we did have two separate rooms. This came in handy when I got up before dawn for the bridge run and didn't disturb my wife while getting ready. The second negative is that my wife now measures our house against the standards of cleanliness and neatness of the Lamplighter! I'm cursed!
If you're going to vacation in the Straits area I would unconditionally recommend the Lamplighter; okay, there is one condition: please leave us one room over Memorial Day weekend!

  • Liked — Tie between value, location, cleanliness and hospitality
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

Just returned from a weekend stay at this little gem of a motel. The good reviews on this site helped my wife and I decide to stay here, and we were not disappointed. We found everything to be exactly as other reviewers have stated. We stayed in the "Somewhere In Time" themed room. Very Nice! Beautifully decorated and cozy, the Victorian furnishings were a bit of a tight fit in the room, but not uncomfortably so. Everything about the room was immaculate. No fear to walk barefoot on the floors here. The bed was clean, fresh, and comfortable. The shower was hot, the toilet worked, the sink didn't drip. The whole property sparkled and reflected the caring concern and pride of the owners. We'll surely stay here again.

  • Liked — The value, cleanliness, decor, and peacefulness
  • Disliked — Really no negative comments
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed at the Lamplighter early September. I was tired of the "CHAIN TYPE HOTELS"....they are all alike.....not open in the winter and they really don't clean these places very well. The Lamplighter was very clean and well maintained. It was your typical 60's type motel. Terry is very nice and willing to help with anything you need. Well kept place within walking distance of shops and the lake. We felt the room we had was just alittle tight for us. No sitting area for an evening of relaxation. Great place if you want a clean reasonable priced family owned place. They do not have CB, but they have a coffee maker and frig in the room. Try breakfast at the Admirals table. Get their special...Really good and cheap. All and all would stay again on our way to Mackinaw Island. Okay for an overnight stay, but not longer.

  • Liked — One of the cleanest hotel in Mackinaw
  • Disliked — Tight quaters for us
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is one of those older motel properties that used to dot the roadside back before the days of interstates. That said, this one is exquisitely maintained. Everything in the room was exceptionally clean, and it was very obvious that the husband and wife team who own and run the property have taken great pains to make sure that everything is geared toward a comfortable and pleasant stay.
The room I reserved was one of the themed rooms, and it had a main room with a bed, TV, refrigerator, etc. plus another bedroom. Space is tight as this is an older style hotel, but everything worked and was spotlessly clean. My only complaint with the room is that the mattress was way too firm for my taste, but that is a personal preference. Others might not be bothered by this. The grounds are well-maintained and planted with beautiful flowers. I think that a person can't find a better value in Mackinaw City, and the location is within easy walking distance of the main shopping area or the water.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
715 helpful votes 715 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Stayed at the Lampligher on a Friday night in July. We made the reservation at the last minute and were lucky to get the last room available, which was an efficiency. Obviously, the secret is getting out about this place. Since the room was an efficiency it had a small kitchen with a stove, refrigerator, and a microwave. Because it was an efficiency, the bed was only full size but it was comfortable enough for two to sleep in.

All the rooms are different and I think the efficiency room was the only room that had a kitchen. Some of the rooms are theme rooms (Somewhere in Time room, garden room, lighthouse room, granny room, etc) and it would have been interesting to see the insides of these rooms.

What impressed me the most about this property was its cleanliness and the way it was maintained. Many motels of this age are not in good shape and remind me of the Bates Motel but this hotel has either been renovated recently or it has been maintained superbly. We stayed on Mackinac Island the next night and our hotel there was not nearly as clean even though it cost 2 1/2 times as much.

Another great thing about this hotel is its location. It is only two blocks away from the lake and two blocks from downtown. However, because it does not sit right on the main shopping strip it is a very quiet and restful place to sleep.

Finally, you can't beat the price for this hotel, especially when you compare it to the chain hotels that make up most of its competition. We were there during the 50th Anniversay of the Mackinac Bridge weekend and our room was $20-40 chepaer than the chain hotels' rates in the city and hundreds of dollars less than the hotels on Mackinac Island.

I highly recommend this hotel because of its great value. You can't do much better than this hotel in Mackinac City and even the fancier hotels on Mackinac Island could learn a few lessons about this place.

  • Liked — Its cleanliness
  • Disliked — The small bed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.