We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Lamplighter!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Save
You added Lamplighter Motel to your Saves list
303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
New Orleans, LA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Loved the Lamplighter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My 10-year-old son and I stayed in "Granny's Cottage" for two nights at the midway point of our three week roadtrip in July, and couldn't have been happier with our accomodations. Terry and Jennifer, the owners, were the perfect hosts and made our stay so enjoyable!

Our unit had a full kitchen, so we were able to prepare breakfast in the morning. There was a queen bed and a separate area with a sleeper. The bathroom, like the entire unit, was immaculate, with oversized, fluffy towels. Free wi-fi worked great! The main street, with lots of shops and restaurants, was within walking distance, as was Shepler's Ferry.

I can't say enough about the hospitality extended by the owners...my son helped Terry build his evening bonfire, and then enjoyed chatting with all of the other guests. And he really got a kick out of the restored 1939 Buick...Terry even took us out in the car and we got a personalized tour of the area! We hope to return to the area again, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
52
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After reading reviews of some of the "big chain" hotels, we decided the make our reservations at the Lamplighter Motel. Terry, one of the owners, was very upfront about the style and size of the rooms. The rates were just right without braking the bank. Almost every review gave very good marks. The motel is located in a very quiet area, close to all the shopping and restaurants. Each room has a different theme. We stayed in the Garden room which consisted of two rooms, 1 queen bed and 1 double bed. The room was decorated just as one would expect, like a garden! The rooms and bathroom were small however very clean. A microwave, small refrig and coffee maker were supplied in our room. Our friends stayed in "somewhere in time" room with a queen poster bed. The guests staying at the motel were all repeats and had nothing but wonderful things to say about the property. Terry, the owner, plus other guests were sitting around a outdoor firepit just enjoying the weather and sharing stories. The gounds of the motel are beautiful, clean, plenty of parking and free internet. We only stayed one night however wished that we stayed an additional night. The motel is located close to the ferry service to Mackinaw Island. There are only 11 units for rent so besure to make your reservation early.
Terry and his wife, Jennifer were very helpful with information regarding ferry service, dining, shopping, etc. This was a great change from the big chains!

Room Tip: This motel requires 48 hour cancellation notice. They accept Visa and Master Card only. I found Am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

the only room available is a small double room. In fact the owner, Terry, mentioned the size of the room twice during the course of the conversation. I thought about it and decided the price was right so we booked it. As we pulled up to the front of this very cute and cozy motel with all the flowers I was at once put at ease. Yes, the room was small, but it's not as if I wasn't told beforehand. So enough about the size of the room and on to what this little place is. It's clean, lovely, peaceful and fun. At about 9:30 pm Terry starts a campfire and one by one the other people staying at the motel join the circle. One couple comes to the Lamplighter once a year for a week and does day trips to nearby attractions. Another couple came north from Kansas to get away from the heat. There were several couples within a short period of time and we all shared our stories about where we had been and where we were going and become kindred spirits. It was wonderful to hear the impressions of others. What was also especially nice is to share your experiences with people from all over and realize we are so different and yet so much alike. Terry's wife, Jen, joined us with their two little dachshunds who slept on pillows at their feet. When you have been traveling for a couple of weeks by yourselves and have an opportunity to share your stories with others it is refreshing. It's almost like group therapy for meandering travelers. We laughed quite a bit about mishaps along the way. By the end of the evening you are part of an unique experience you could not have had anywhere else. This place is not just about a place to lay your head at night but about the entire experience. Nice people with lots to share. You are not going to find this at the Econo Lodge or Super 8. If I am ever in this area again, I will be sure to stay here. I hope you do too. By the way, the motel is within walking distance of the main thoroughfare and waterside park. It's also very close to the ferries to Mackinac Island. Life is good at the Lamplighter Motel! By the way, Terry and Jen take care of everything...the housekeeping, landscaping, reservations and do a superior job of it. Kudos to them.

Room Tip: There are themed rooms and you might want to request one of those, but my main advice would be to jo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After staying in chain hotels and a fancy B&B, we wanted a laid back, homey place to meet locals as we toured northern MI and the UP. Stayed in the Dragonfly room for 2 nights and it was exactly as advertised. Terry and Jenn were full of helpful local info and were fun to talk with. The other guests were accepting, interesting and delightful. When I get back to northern MI again will look forward to the fire pit time at night. Terry - love your old car!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First off, the 2-star rating has to be taken in context. There were things to like about the Lamplighter, but based on the reviews in TripAdvisor I was expecting more. The price is very reasonable for the area but just keep in mind, you get what you pay for. We stayed in the Lighthouse room (2 adults, 2 kids) and we had a hard time fitting everything in the rooms. Both rooms were very small (beds take up most the room) and the bathroom was even smaller. What made it "less than" what I read on TA was that my wife really didn't care for it. Granted, she likes major chains that have all of the amenities, but this place only had its location and the charm of the owners going for it.
It was fine for me, and perhaps some of my traveling buds, but if you like spacious rooms with the latest decor this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The whole time at this place was awesome. The owners were warm and made us feel like home. The closest to everything was incredible. We were up there for a triathlon and during the race the owners came down to watch and take pictures. The fire and s'mores at night were heart warning, to be able to meet up with people from all over. Thank you so much for everything. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katsue
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in a Garden theme room. It's cozy with pretty decor, but the room is small. I guess you've got what you pay for.

Pros: walking distance to downtown, attractions and Shepler's ferry terminals; towels are clean; camp fire at night; next to a playground

Cons: no hair dryer, no microwave or fridge in standard room, small room and bathroom, no laundromat

I think I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.