We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I hoped for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Save Saved
You added Lamplighter Motel to your Saves list
303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Raleigh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what I hoped for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After staying in chain hotels and a fancy B&B, we wanted a laid back, homey place to meet locals as we toured northern MI and the UP. Stayed in the Dragonfly room for 2 nights and it was exactly as advertised. Terry and Jenn were full of helpful local info and were fun to talk with. The other guests were accepting, interesting and delightful. When I get back to northern MI again will look forward to the fire pit time at night. Terry - love your old car!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    21
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

First off, the 2-star rating has to be taken in context. There were things to like about the Lamplighter, but based on the reviews in TripAdvisor I was expecting more. The price is very reasonable for the area but just keep in mind, you get what you pay for. We stayed in the Lighthouse room (2 adults, 2 kids) and we had a hard time fitting everything in the rooms. Both rooms were very small (beds take up most the room) and the bathroom was even smaller. What made it "less than" what I read on TA was that my wife really didn't care for it. Granted, she likes major chains that have all of the amenities, but this place only had its location and the charm of the owners going for it.
It was fine for me, and perhaps some of my traveling buds, but if you like spacious rooms with the latest decor this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The whole time at this place was awesome. The owners were warm and made us feel like home. The closest to everything was incredible. We were up there for a triathlon and during the race the owners came down to watch and take pictures. The fire and s'mores at night were heart warning, to be able to meet up with people from all over. Thank you so much for everything. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katsue
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in a Garden theme room. It's cozy with pretty decor, but the room is small. I guess you've got what you pay for.

Pros: walking distance to downtown, attractions and Shepler's ferry terminals; towels are clean; camp fire at night; next to a playground

Cons: no hair dryer, no microwave or fridge in standard room, small room and bathroom, no laundromat

I think I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Macinac Island in the Dragonfly room. It was extremely clean and cozy. The campfire in the parking lot in the evening was a relaxing way to get together with other travelers.We liked our stay so much that when returning from the island two days later we spent a night in the Somewhere in Time room one night. A lot of their buismess appeared to be from return customers and if in the area again we will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

For several years during the week of July 4th, we have stayed at the Lamplighter Motel. We usually stay two nights when we take our annual family trip with our kids and grandkids. Over the years we've added 7 grandkids and everyone considers the Lamplighter our "home" in Mackinaw City. We have never been disappointed with our stay at this great little motel. The motel is situated in a quiet neighborhood away from any traffic noise and crowds yet it's only 2 blocks from the main street in Mackinaw City. It's also within walking distance from a fantastic view of the Mackinac Bridge. The rooms are always SUPER clean and the rates are VERY reasonable!!
We already have 3 rooms reserved for next year's (2013) annual 4th of July family trip! I highly recommend this motel. You will NOT be disappointed with your stay!!! .
.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I am very picky when it comes to hotels so I was a little apprehensive about staying in anything other than expensive chain. However, after reading all the positive reviews I decided to give it a try. We loved it! We were in the "Somewhere in Time" room - which was very clean and charming. The room isn't huge but plenty of room for 2 (which is what it was designed for) - and it had mini frig, microwave. The hotel is located in quiet neighborhood and within easy walking distance to EVERYTHING. This will definitely be the motel we use in Mackinaw from now on!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.