We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Save
You added Lamplighter Motel to your Saves list
303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Marysville, Michigan
1 review
“I loved this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The whole time at this place was awesome. The owners were warm and made us feel like home. The closest to everything was incredible. We were up there for a triathlon and during the race the owners came down to watch and take pictures. The fire and s'mores at night were heart warning, to be able to meet up with people from all over. Thank you so much for everything. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
52
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katsue
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in a Garden theme room. It's cozy with pretty decor, but the room is small. I guess you've got what you pay for.

Pros: walking distance to downtown, attractions and Shepler's ferry terminals; towels are clean; camp fire at night; next to a playground

Cons: no hair dryer, no microwave or fridge in standard room, small room and bathroom, no laundromat

I think I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Macinac Island in the Dragonfly room. It was extremely clean and cozy. The campfire in the parking lot in the evening was a relaxing way to get together with other travelers.We liked our stay so much that when returning from the island two days later we spent a night in the Somewhere in Time room one night. A lot of their buismess appeared to be from return customers and if in the area again we will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

For several years during the week of July 4th, we have stayed at the Lamplighter Motel. We usually stay two nights when we take our annual family trip with our kids and grandkids. Over the years we've added 7 grandkids and everyone considers the Lamplighter our "home" in Mackinaw City. We have never been disappointed with our stay at this great little motel. The motel is situated in a quiet neighborhood away from any traffic noise and crowds yet it's only 2 blocks from the main street in Mackinaw City. It's also within walking distance from a fantastic view of the Mackinac Bridge. The rooms are always SUPER clean and the rates are VERY reasonable!!
We already have 3 rooms reserved for next year's (2013) annual 4th of July family trip! I highly recommend this motel. You will NOT be disappointed with your stay!!! .
.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I am very picky when it comes to hotels so I was a little apprehensive about staying in anything other than expensive chain. However, after reading all the positive reviews I decided to give it a try. We loved it! We were in the "Somewhere in Time" room - which was very clean and charming. The room isn't huge but plenty of room for 2 (which is what it was designed for) - and it had mini frig, microwave. The hotel is located in quiet neighborhood and within easy walking distance to EVERYTHING. This will definitely be the motel we use in Mackinaw from now on!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I found the Lamplighters on Trip Advisor. We had only 3 days to plan our road trip to Northern Michigan and decided to try the Lamplighter based on the positive reviews. It was a great experience. Even though we were only there for a short time, we loved it. I was able to share my appreciation for antique cars with Terry and chat with him about his beautiful 1939 Buick currently being restored. What a treasure--the hotel, the owner, and the car!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed for just a quick overnight on our journey over the Mackinac Bridge and back. I can confirm that all the reviews that prompted us to stay at the Lamplighter are true. Very short walk to downtown and Lake Michigan and also tucked away on a side street so the walking roads were residential neighborhoods or beach paths.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 303 E Jamet St, P.O. Box 719, Mackinaw City, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy personalized service in a family owned business. Our rooms are clean and comfortable. We are within walking distance to island ferry docks, downtown shopping area, restaurants, and the Mackinaw Crossings. The Mackinac Bridge and fort are only a short stroll away. A children's play park is next door. With our location you can take in all that Mackinaw has to offer without driving your car. We are the only motel in Mackinaw City that is in the middle of the residential area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Mackinaw City
Lamplighter Motel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.