We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Save Saved
You added American Boutique Inn - Lakeview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$5 off on Ferry Tickets!!
Ranked #4 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The room was small but very comfortable. The proprietors are very friendly. I had forgotten my tooth brush and asked where the closest drug store was. When I said it was a tooth brush I needed, she offered me one and refused payment for it. We were just across the street from the water. Enjoyed both a beautiful sunset and a sunrise. Both worth waiting for. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    26
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found the grounds beautiful and well cared for and the rooms clean and comfortable, nicely decorated. Breakfast room was small. Front desk personnel always friendly and helpful and the cat who serves as a greeter was beautiful! We came with a group of 10 during the BigMac Bike ride, and we were very pleased by location to all we needed.The swings in the front yard were great!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just had a wonderful time in Mackinaw for our 38th anniversary!!!!! We have gone back to the American Boutique (formerly Budget Host) for many years. We consider the owners our friends, always have great service and conversation with them. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are always very very clean and neat. The addition of the breakfast and wine reception is wonderful. Mornings at breakfast are always such a pleasure to go to. We always highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Great great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a great stay here, despite what the title may lead you to think; however, you need to either ignore the edgy lady at the front counter or chat her up. I chose the latter and ended up receiving no little advice and help from her, but she might rub you the wrong way if you're sensitive!

Excellent location, nicely heated pool, funky rooms, this is in any event an old motel. Excellently maintained and lovingly repaired, but it's motel soul comes out in the AC units that make a lot of noise and the tiny bathroom.

A lovely breakfast finished our over-nighter, and yes, I'd recommend this place, and would go back there, just brace yourself for your arrival!

Room Tip: I'm not sure the themed rooms are worth the extra money unless you're a "themed" t...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Each themed room is done in a very unique way. Gardens & sitting areas very relaxing to hear fountain whether you want to read a book, or just people watch. Crew works very hard to keep grounds up and rooms spotless! Short walk to downtown or bridge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knife River, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were looking for a last minute place to stay and chose the "Boutique" Inn based on reviews and a telephone call to check the rate. We were disappointed in the smell and cleanliness of our room and the commercially packaged and stale food served in the so-called "Serendipity Room". The staff was grumpy and allowed their larage, long-haired cat to lounge on the check-in counter. We will not stay at the (Kitty) Boutique Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beebee75, Owner at American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
The American Boutique Inn has a resident cat named Spenser who serves as our Social Director. He is a short haired Russian Blue male who is adored by most of our guests. (Spense "adores" the adoration) Repeat customers usually ask about him when they book reservations.

We heard no complaints from you while you were at the property and are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. One of the many chain properties in town would probably better serve your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here based on TripAdvisor. Very cute place. Exceptionally friendly staff. Room was small with no refrigerator. The room was musty smelling but spray room freshener I brought helped. The shower curtain had a sour smell. It is within walking distance to most attractions. The waterfront is across the street. We walked to the beach every night to sit on a blanket & enjoy the Mighty Mac. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of areas to sit and relax. Overall, it was nice but was disappointed with the musty smell.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel
Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast in Bed". Evening wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.