We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“edgy service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Save Saved
You added American Boutique Inn - Lakeview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“edgy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a great stay here, despite what the title may lead you to think; however, you need to either ignore the edgy lady at the front counter or chat her up. I chose the latter and ended up receiving no little advice and help from her, but she might rub you the wrong way if you're sensitive!

Excellent location, nicely heated pool, funky rooms, this is in any event an old motel. Excellently maintained and lovingly repaired, but it's motel soul comes out in the AC units that make a lot of noise and the tiny bathroom.

A lovely breakfast finished our over-nighter, and yes, I'd recommend this place, and would go back there, just brace yourself for your arrival!

Room Tip: I'm not sure the themed rooms are worth the extra money unless you're a "themed" t...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Each themed room is done in a very unique way. Gardens & sitting areas very relaxing to hear fountain whether you want to read a book, or just people watch. Crew works very hard to keep grounds up and rooms spotless! Short walk to downtown or bridge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knife River, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were looking for a last minute place to stay and chose the "Boutique" Inn based on reviews and a telephone call to check the rate. We were disappointed in the smell and cleanliness of our room and the commercially packaged and stale food served in the so-called "Serendipity Room". The staff was grumpy and allowed their larage, long-haired cat to lounge on the check-in counter. We will not stay at the (Kitty) Boutique Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beebee75, Owner at American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
The American Boutique Inn has a resident cat named Spenser who serves as our Social Director. He is a short haired Russian Blue male who is adored by most of our guests. (Spense "adores" the adoration) Repeat customers usually ask about him when they book reservations.

We heard no complaints from you while you were at the property and are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. One of the many chain properties in town would probably better serve your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here based on TripAdvisor. Very cute place. Exceptionally friendly staff. Room was small with no refrigerator. The room was musty smelling but spray room freshener I brought helped. The shower curtain had a sour smell. It is within walking distance to most attractions. The waterfront is across the street. We walked to the beach every night to sit on a blanket & enjoy the Mighty Mac. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of areas to sit and relax. Overall, it was nice but was disappointed with the musty smell.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after such good reviews (2 kids, 2 adults). Was within walking distance to take ferry to Mackinac Island, downtown Mackinaw and tourist attractions. There was an outdoor pool that we weren't able to use because of a time crunch. Rooms were nice and clean and breakfast room was really small. Breakfast was the basics like cereal, bagels, pasteries, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc. Would definately stay here next trip to Mackinaw City!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The good: This is a wonderful location. The clean park and waterfront are steps across the quiet street. The Mac is at the left and the Island the right. The grounds are immaculate and pleasant to relax, whether to use their free wifi, to gaze across the water, or read. The place has a feel of a B&B, unique and friendly. Room service continental breakfast a nice touch, though unremarkable fare. Allowed to check in early, gather key upon our evening return, selling us discounted ferry tickets and calling us a ride in a snap-very helpful.
The bad: The queen bed was just 4 to 6 inches of foam over a standard boxspring. I thought there was a rock at the center of my back, and my husband left with sore hips and buttock after two nights. I was unable to use shower/tub 1st day when I found body hair all over the tub. Yuck. Washed tub with shampoo and got up nerve to use shower the next day. We will not be back. Too bad, cute place. Had booked based on Tripadvisor recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of mattress is in room---if they say foam, ask for another. Inspect bathroom prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family has been coming to the Mackinaw area for 30 + years. I have stayed all over the city (and also in friends cottages) but, this motel is one of the best kept secrets in the area. Clean and friendly it is a perfect refuge for those looking to experience the "old way" of staying in a motel.
The rooms are smaller, but clean and comfortable. The motel is immaculate and the owners take great pride in caring for the building and grounds.
If you are looking for the true "Mom and Pop" motel this is the place. If you need fancy schmancy then you should keep looking. Thanks Bill and Bonnie! We will be back again next year! :)

Room Tip: Ask for room 108 or above...you can see the bridge from there. Corner room is quiet and a bit away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast in Bed". Evening wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.