We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, bed not comfortable, hair in tub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Save Saved
You added American Boutique Inn - Lakeview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Goodrich, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best location, bed not comfortable, hair in tub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The good: This is a wonderful location. The clean park and waterfront are steps across the quiet street. The Mac is at the left and the Island the right. The grounds are immaculate and pleasant to relax, whether to use their free wifi, to gaze across the water, or read. The place has a feel of a B&B, unique and friendly. Room service continental breakfast a nice touch, though unremarkable fare. Allowed to check in early, gather key upon our evening return, selling us discounted ferry tickets and calling us a ride in a snap-very helpful.
The bad: The queen bed was just 4 to 6 inches of foam over a standard boxspring. I thought there was a rock at the center of my back, and my husband left with sore hips and buttock after two nights. I was unable to use shower/tub 1st day when I found body hair all over the tub. Yuck. Washed tub with shampoo and got up nerve to use shower the next day. We will not be back. Too bad, cute place. Had booked based on Tripadvisor recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of mattress is in room---if they say foam, ask for another. Inspect bathroom prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family has been coming to the Mackinaw area for 30 + years. I have stayed all over the city (and also in friends cottages) but, this motel is one of the best kept secrets in the area. Clean and friendly it is a perfect refuge for those looking to experience the "old way" of staying in a motel.
The rooms are smaller, but clean and comfortable. The motel is immaculate and the owners take great pride in caring for the building and grounds.
If you are looking for the true "Mom and Pop" motel this is the place. If you need fancy schmancy then you should keep looking. Thanks Bill and Bonnie! We will be back again next year! :)

Room Tip: Ask for room 108 or above...you can see the bridge from there. Corner room is quiet and a bit away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I absolutely loved staying here! The decor in the room was country vintage, and simply adorable. The beds were comfortable and the outdoor pool was very warm and relaxing. Not to mention, this inn is right by the water and is very close to the downtown area, yet far enough away to not get the noise. The room was very clean and the front desk service was wonderful. They had a list of events that were happening around town, so my mother and I decided to go on one of those free excursions. Simply wonderful, and very relaxing. I recommend this to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We would stay again for sure. Outdoor pool was really nice. Rooms are a little small but clean. We had 2 adults and 2 young children. Walking distance to town. Staff was very nice, locally owned. Priced right. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in key largo room second floor overlooking pool. Room was comfortable and clean. Did not use the pool but it looked a decent size. Breakfast was nice you do have the option of having this in your room if staying in a themed room, however, we decided not to as you didn't get as much choice. We went down to the breakfast room which was small but we managed to get seated straight away on both mornings and the breakfast was nice. Hotel in good location 10 minute walk to ferry & town. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel is in a great location with a friendly staff. The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean, but outdated. Good place to stay for a few nights though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macomb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice and clean. Very good service.Great location. Pool was ok and a little crowded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast in Bed". Evening wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.