We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 S Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Sparta, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

For the price it was ok, the water park is ok too. Nothing to write home about, but it was clean! The water park is shared with 5 different hotels and the hotel is set up very weird, you have to go around back and through a non secured door to get to the elevators.... Kinda strange but whatever?!?!!?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    35
    24
    78
See reviews for
125
30
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay here was ok. We stayed in the off season and mid week also. Rooms are old and I don't like that they have a comforter on the bed that I'm sure isn't washed after every guest. Gross...who still does that? I saw a tiny bug on the bedskirt that I think was a flea...being bug paranoid that didn't start me off on the right foot. Room was large with a little balcony. Bathroom was very basic but clean. Little kitchen area is nice and makes it very family friendly. Breakfast was ok...for those wanting to eat healthy, I didn't find anything really to eat. WAffles, bisquits and gravy, sausage and bad eggs. A carb lovers heaven for sure. No yogurt, no fresh fruit but ok and does the trick in the morning. Desk clerk was very nice. There was a school group there on our second night and that was of course a nightmare. Screaming kids running the halls at all hours. Not good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed the weekend here, Friday night to Sunday morning. The hotel boasts about their huge breakfast bar, which it really wasn't. They had the food spread out. The bagels were on the far wall next to the cereal dispensers, which there were only three of, and not by the rest of the food. They offered no donuts, or fruit of any kind. You had your coffee, eggs, some nasty tasting sausage, and two waffle makers, and juice dispenser. That is all. Not to mention it shares the breakfast room with the hotel it's connected to. Our room just happened to be directly over the breakfast area, so expect to be woken up by the smell of burning waffles starting at 6a. Then when you don't smell the burning waffles, the room will smell like its a pool. It was very muggy in there, so we cracked the window the whole two inches that it opened. It helped a little bit, but nothing to be excited about. The room itself was clean, excluding the mold growing on the pipes in the bathroom (I think they tried to make the pipes part of the decor, but it was hard to miss the black mold on the bottom of it). The fridge and microwave were clean. The one big complaint is there was only one elevator. So carrying luggage and a cooler up to the room was a challenge. The game room was nice, and the pool shared the same area as the indoor water park, so kids will be everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at many fine Comfort inns and Suites so our experience at the Mackinaw City Comfort Suites was disappointing to say the least. The rooms were small and not particularly clean. The carpet had not been vacumned and there was a ring around the tub. The breakfast bar was minimal. What items they offered were stale, cold and not refilled in a timely manner or not at all. Tables were not cleared or wiped down between guests.The door to the rooms was full glass with curtains made to close only when people are in the room. This made it necessary to hide our property from site of casual by passers when out of the room. To top it off, the front desk woman was rude.

Room Tip: pick a different motel, there are plenty near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here the night before going to Mackinac Island. I had failed to check the TripAdvisor reviews and paid the price. We arrived and the women at the front desk gave us a hard sell on an upgraded suite location. We took it when the upgrade price was dropped to $10. The suite was okay but nothing special. Late that evening my wife went to bed and I headed for the shower. Couldn't use it because the shower rod was hanging loose from the wall. The next morning I told the desk clerk about the problem and requested a refund of at least the $10 upgrade fee. She said she wouldn't do it since I had failed to contact the desk the previous night. Really, with my wife in bed drifting to sleep. An OK hotel can be better with great service but an OK hotel becomes a less desirable location with poor service and bad atitude. I won't ever stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here the week of Labor Day. We arrived Labor Day weekend and it was packed, as to be expected with the bridge walk being held that day. We had a small suite with a bedroom and living room area divided by the bath and "kitchen" area. There was also a bed in the living room area and the couch made into a bed also. There was a nice water park, indoor, at the end of the building. It had a few small slides for kids, a swimming pool and large hot tub. We were also able to go to the water parks at 2 other hotels. We went to one other. It had 2 large water slides and the play area was smaller.

Our hotel had a very good breakfast bar also. You could choose from eggs, waffles, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cold cereal, sausage, bagels, toast and fruit. Every day you could choose regular waffles or cinnamon waffles and on our last day you could have pumpkin waffles if you wanted (good). The breakfast area was full early in the morning but I was told that 3 other motel guests came to eat there also. There was also a small play area with swings and such for the kids to play on. All in all, I'd surely go back if given the chance.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level and had a small patio outside the door. This was nice. Not sure how it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel looks good on the outside but is way over priced. I had asked for a lower room because of back surgeries can not walk up step very well. We were put on the 5th floor and did have to walk up steps. I could have been put on a floor with no steps if I wanted to pay much more. This hotel did not smell good. The water in the park was brownish color, no one should get in that. Breakfast was not much and what was there was cold. We could see out in the hall because the door did not fit, there was a crack in the side of the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City

Address: 720 S Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites - Mackinaw City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.