We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shores At Mackinaw

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shores At Mackinaw
10900 US 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Flint, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a group come up for a wedding in Mackinaw City. We needed to check in earlier than the stated time so that we would be ready in time for the wedding. Carol and her staff bent over backwards to accomodate us, so much so we even had time for a nap before the ceremony! We had chosen to stay here because it was cheaper than three rooms at any of the local hotels PLUS we had a full kitchen with all of the amenities, a gorgeous living room, three bedrooms and two full baths. The view was TO DIE FOR and the pool was so wonderful that the bride and groom even came over to join us. We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay here! We will definitely go back. Great location with a beautiful view. The condo was very nice and clean. The pool was also very nice and clean. It was a wonderful vacation spot. We were able to relax and the kids enjoyed it a well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything about our stay at The Shores was amazing.

The view if you get a water front condo (highly recommended) is nothing short of spectacular! You have a beautiful view of the Mackinaw Bridge as well as Mackinac Island including the famous Grand Hotel (although he island is a little far away). At night the bridge is lit up in all it's glory and the sunsets are perfect. If you leave your windows open at night you get to hear the waves continually lapping against the shore.

The rooms in the. Condo we had were just awesome, very nice to look at but still very comfortable and livable at the same time. The kitchen had everything we needed and the two car garage was great to have. The heated pool was the perfect temperature and very well maintained. The private beach was also very well maintained with its firepit.

The location is about a mile outside town. I wouldn't walk into town, but it made a great jog into town and back. It takes less than 5 minutes to get to the ferries and all he shops in town, but somehow is still secluded and quiet.

Everything about this place is terrific and the people are friendly and easy to deal with on the phone for reservations.

Highly recommended! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have been going to The Shores At Mackinaw for many years. It is beautifully decorated, spotless and private. The pool is close and the lake views and bridge views are spectacular. I would like to thank Carol for helping us find the perfect Condo to suit our needs.

We look forward to enjoying another July vacation sight seeing in Mackinaw and relaxing at these beautiful Condos with our family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We have been coming to the Shores of Mackinaw for six years now bringing family members along year after year.
The view of the bridge, lake and Mackinac Island cannot be beat! Downtown is nearby, as are the lumberjack show and the other Mackinaw Parks.
The only downside is that every year something else seems to be taken away that we took for granted. This year, it was the gas grills in the common area replaced by charcoal grills. Before that, the beach would be groomed every day (chairs picked up, trash picked up). But it seems like the beach is going back to its natural state with grasses growing back up and into the sandy area.
But don't get me wrong. THIS PLACE IS BEAUTIFUL! Condos are clean, managers are receptive and everyone seems to get along.
As for traveling w/ our kids, well, yes they run around are super excited because it's vacation time. They use the beach, pool, look for frogs in the pond and have a great time. We luckily have never come across disagreeable tentants.
I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE SHORES. We'll see you there the second week of August 2010!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

These condos are quiet, yet convenient to all the Mackinaw City attractions. Very nice views from the waterfront condos.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed in one bedroom unit lakefront view. We were very impressed by the cleanliness and the decor was nice and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the bridge and lake. We did not have anyone above us in the two bedroom unit and that may be a problem if there are kids running around. The area is quiet and away from the downtown noise. The condos are much nicer than a hotel room as they offer full kitchens, living room, bedroom, laundry room, garage, nice bathroom. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shores At Mackinaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores At Mackinaw

Address: 10900 US 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shores At Mackinaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Shores At Mackinaw to your Saves list