We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic find with an amazing view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shores At Mackinaw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Shores At Mackinaw to your Saves list
The Shores At Mackinaw
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10900 W. US 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fantastic find with an amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything about our stay at The Shores was amazing.

The view if you get a water front condo (highly recommended) is nothing short of spectacular! You have a beautiful view of the Mackinaw Bridge as well as Mackinac Island including the famous Grand Hotel (although he island is a little far away). At night the bridge is lit up in all it's glory and the sunsets are perfect. If you leave your windows open at night you get to hear the waves continually lapping against the shore.

The rooms in the. Condo we had were just awesome, very nice to look at but still very comfortable and livable at the same time. The kitchen had everything we needed and the two car garage was great to have. The heated pool was the perfect temperature and very well maintained. The private beach was also very well maintained with its firepit.

The location is about a mile outside town. I wouldn't walk into town, but it made a great jog into town and back. It takes less than 5 minutes to get to the ferries and all he shops in town, but somehow is still secluded and quiet.

Everything about this place is terrific and the people are friendly and easy to deal with on the phone for reservations.

Highly recommended! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have been going to The Shores At Mackinaw for many years. It is beautifully decorated, spotless and private. The pool is close and the lake views and bridge views are spectacular. I would like to thank Carol for helping us find the perfect Condo to suit our needs.

We look forward to enjoying another July vacation sight seeing in Mackinaw and relaxing at these beautiful Condos with our family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We have been coming to the Shores of Mackinaw for six years now bringing family members along year after year.
The view of the bridge, lake and Mackinac Island cannot be beat! Downtown is nearby, as are the lumberjack show and the other Mackinaw Parks.
The only downside is that every year something else seems to be taken away that we took for granted. This year, it was the gas grills in the common area replaced by charcoal grills. Before that, the beach would be groomed every day (chairs picked up, trash picked up). But it seems like the beach is going back to its natural state with grasses growing back up and into the sandy area.
But don't get me wrong. THIS PLACE IS BEAUTIFUL! Condos are clean, managers are receptive and everyone seems to get along.
As for traveling w/ our kids, well, yes they run around are super excited because it's vacation time. They use the beach, pool, look for frogs in the pond and have a great time. We luckily have never come across disagreeable tentants.
I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE SHORES. We'll see you there the second week of August 2010!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

These condos are quiet, yet convenient to all the Mackinaw City attractions. Very nice views from the waterfront condos.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed in one bedroom unit lakefront view. We were very impressed by the cleanliness and the decor was nice and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the bridge and lake. We did not have anyone above us in the two bedroom unit and that may be a problem if there are kids running around. The area is quiet and away from the downtown noise. The condos are much nicer than a hotel room as they offer full kitchens, living room, bedroom, laundry room, garage, nice bathroom. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We stayed at the Shores this past summer and I felt I needed to write a review so that the "family of travelers" can have an idea what the Shores offers. First, if you book make sure if you want a view of the water that you ask to have a view of the lake and not just a peek out a window if you look in the right direction. The condo was very clean and had EVERYTHING that you need as far as utensils and cookware. Deco was of your basic furniture and art you see typically in rentals. Bedrooms were nice size and had quality linens. SO, as far as you can see the condo's are nice which leads me to the issue we had. We stayed in a upper and we have 3 kids all under 6, and the family we were with had three of thier own. As day led to night the kids were playing and not even full throttle as they typically due. At a time of 8 PM we got a knock on the door and it was the renters downstairs who were having a difficult time due to the loud banging coming from upstairs. I told her I will attempt to quiet the crowd however it was rather early and that they really were not being over the top. Well I went back upstairs and informed everyone of the complaint and our condo took on a feel of being trapped in a situation where we could not let the kids even walk around. It was terrible and a second complaint brought me to a feeling that this week long stay was going to be terrible. I called the on-site management and spoke with him regarding the situation. He had very few answers for me because the Shores were booked for the week. He did say that if the kids were not being to loud that I should enjoy my stay and try to keep the noise to a minimum. I felt better however being of a caring type I still felt bad for our downstairs neighbors. Well the next day the neighbors found out that another unit was available so they promptly moved, feeling uncomfortable when we all saw each other. So the moral is, Management made it work for both parties however what would have happened if another unit was not available? There was no way our kids were going to be in quiet mode every night at 7 PM. The condo's are built with thin floor/walls where you can hear people talking from room to room. So I feel justified inr writing this review, my goal was not to slam the The Shores, they were very friendly and did help but our stay was doomed due to the construction of the condo's and you can not fix that issue. PS - we never got a new neighbor the rest of our stay!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — construction of units
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
#3 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#12 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#17 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores At Mackinaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores At Mackinaw

Address: 10900 W. US 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shores At Mackinaw 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores at Mackinaw Condominium Resort is situated along the pristine shoreline of Lake Huron just one mile south of Mackinaw City. You can enjoy all the flavors the Mackinaw area has to offer and in minutes be back in your northern Michigan retreat at The Shores. See breathtaking sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony. Take a dip in our heated beachfront pool. Relax on our private sandy beach or sundeck. Grill your fresh catch on the grills in the community pavilion and picnic area. Enjoy cool evenings on the beach by the bonfire and try your hand at making the perfect s'more. 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condos available. Prices do not include occupancy tax or cleaning fee. 1 - bedroom scenic view condo is $200.00 per night (sleeps 2-4 using sleeper sofa) 2 - bedroom scenic view condo is $250.00 per night (sleeps 2-6 using sleeper sofa) 3 - bedroom scenic view condo is $300.00 per night (sleeps 2-10 using sleeper sofa) 1-bedroom waterfront condo is $250.00 per night (sleeps 2-4 using sleeper sofa) 2-bedroom waterfront condo is $300.00 per night (sleeps 2-6 using sleeper sofa) 3 -bedroom waterfront condo is 350.00 per night (sleeps 2-10 using sleeper sofa) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Shores At Mackinaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shores At Mackinaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.