We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Budget Inns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Starlite Budget Inns to your Saves list
Starlite Budget Inns
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good value for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Place was very quiet and my husband and I slept well, even though there were children right next door, but air conditioner was old and didn't run at night. Luckily the temps were fairly mild for the two nights we stayed there, otherwise we would have been miserable. Also had a problem with the drapes. They were falling down and had to be propped up. Complained to the front desk about them, and was told they would be fixed, but it didn't happen during our stay (and I'm betting it won't get fixed this season). There were lots of cobwebs in the drapes. That said, I still would go back there in a pinch. It was a great value compared to surrounding properties.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    8
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

for 49 dollars a night, this place was awesome! VERY clean, VERY friendly, and just all around great value, HIGHLY recommend! we are very happy with it here, a little outside of town, but a short drive to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this motel because we had coupons for the casino, however when we checked in and mentioned the casino coupons, we were told they had no idea what we were talking about ; although we still had the pamphlet which clearly stated we were owed $50 in vouchers. None the less we dropped the issue.
The motel was fairly close to the main strip. We took a free shuttle from the motel to the ferry and back, which worked out nicely for us.
The continental breakfast was quite poor. We woke up early to eat, but even so found there was very little food left. All the juice was gone, as well as peanut butter and cream cheese; we were left with few options.
The rooms were quite dated but fairly clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great value. We stayed two nights. I would stay here again and recommend it to others. It was clean and quiet. Close to many things. We mostly walked to where we wanted to go. Only a few steps from your car to your room for very easy and convenient unloading and loading. Bonnie was very helpful and receptive. Nice breakfast. My kids and I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We planned to stay in Traverse City and take the scenic route to Mackinaw City the next day, but when we went to book reservations in Traverse City, the lowest rate we were quoted was $135 with others rapidly going over $200! Before accepting those prices we decided to check the rates here in Mackinaw City. Since it is obviously a tourist town, we expected the rates to be similarly high. We were pleased to find that rates in general, were significantly lower and in fact had put a hold on a room at the Americas Best Value which is next door to the Starlite, but the Starlite sign said "Guranteed lowest rates" so I had to check it out!

Not only were the rates lower at the Starlite, but the room was bigger, cleaner and nicer than next door. So instead of spending one night as we had originally planned, we spent two and were very pleased. True, the refrigerator and air conditioner were not on when we got to the room, but saving energy on appliances that aren't being used anyway is not offensive to me. We turned them on and by the time we returned from dinner everything was fine.

Finally, I'd like to say that Bonnie, the hostess, was very pleasant, outgoing and helpful. Our experience at the Starlite may well have been the most pleasant surprise of our trip. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howell, mi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was awful. I lost money. I didn't even end up staying in the room over night. I couldn't even stand in the room for long it smelled so bad. Pool was freezing cold. Not close to anything so you had to drive to everything! The place is done for, needs to be bull dozed down. I found places newer on the water for not that much more money. What a shame. I thought it couldn't be that bad here for the money and it was. She couuldn't even give me all my money back for the second night that I cancelled immmediately when I knew I couldn't stay there. So I paid for one full night that I did not stay and part of another night I did not stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here because it was cheap but buyer beware I guess you get what you pay for--the fridge was hot when we arrived (not even ON!) The air conditioner was not on (so the room was stifling hot) and the main lamp to the room didn't work. When I tried to call the office this is when I discovered the phone didn't work either. I called from my cell and got an "answering service" that promised to "wake up" the front desk help. Wow. She had the nerve to complain that I woke her up with these issues. I hoped for a replacement room but she said this is how it is. The fridge didn't get cold until the morning when it was time to leave. The air conditioner blew room temp air. I couldn't WAIT to get out of there. The only real perk was the half-way decent breakfast. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: I noticed that some rooms had a door wall (glass sliding door). I don't know what that was all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlite Budget Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Budget Inns

Address: 116 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Budget Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up-north hospitality at an affordable price. Close to downtown, entertainment, shopping, restaurant, island ferries and Mackinaw bridge. Free breakfast, playground, heated pool, jacuzzi and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starlite Budget Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Budget Inns Hotel Mackinaw City
Budget Inn Starlite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Budget Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.