We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Bridge view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront to your Saves list
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Michigan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Bridge view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fab first floor room. Hot tub and good size room & Patio. Grab a glass of Michigan vino sit on your patio on Lake Huron. Nice clean beach with chairs. Indoor pool if you don't like the cold water of the Big Lake. Breakfast was ok. Good location next to ferry. Parking can be tricky small lot. The people were all Pleasant. Have stayed over Holiday's the fireworks over the bridge and lights from the Island made for a great evening.

Room Tip: We like Lake front on the beach and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    87
    74
    65
    132
See reviews for
155
141
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

First I will say the hotel overall is nice - however, the staff is terrible. The older guy behind the front desk does nothing but complain and bark orders to the guests. We booked this hotel two weekends in a row for hockey trips...and in Mackinaw City there aren't many other options during the winter. The first weekend we arrived to a down computer system so check in took forever - we were assigned two rooms that both had guests in them before finally getting a room that was open. Since the computer being down wasn't really our fault you would have thought they might try to be a bit nicer and more helpful - instead the staff were basically rude. One of our parents were told they never made a reservation and when he told them the day he called, they said that "they record every phone call and will check the log that day". He wound up getting a room but the arguing was non-stop. There is a special check in sheet that applies only to hockey teams (you are prohibited from bringing a mini stick into the hotel). There is a curfew for hockey players - they have to be in their room by 9 PM. We used the community room one evening to have a few drinks and snacks and were told by the staff that we had to vaccuum the room before we left. That was a first for us.

The following trip we were treated just about the same - in the pool area they were out of towels so I asked my son to go to the front desk to let them know. They told him they were "too busy" to put any more out. When we were getting ready to go to dinner I was at the front desk and once again our front desk friend was complaining about the guests using "too many towels" and that's why they were out all the time. Seriously?

We returned from dinner to use the community room once again and found several kids & parents having a Nerf gun war - tables were turned over and discs and Nerf bullets were everywhere along with the associated mayhem (I am not saying hockey kids don't make noise, but these folks didn't have to sign any forms - they weren't one of those noisy hockey teams). My wife went downstairs to look for one of the kids and was told by the front desk that she was being "too loud" walking down the stairs. She mentioned the Nerf gun folks and was told he would "look into it" which never happened.

Overall, if you don't mind being treated really rude in trade for a decent room, book it here - if you are a hockey team I would find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Book it somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. This was picked by the school for a bowling tournament in nearby Cheboygan and although it’s not as nearby as we would have liked the hotel was a good choice. They advertise a continental breakfast starting at 7am. As the teams had to be at the tournament by 8am it was great to see that the food was out and ready by 6am. Not only did they have the basic cereal, toast and coffee, they also had scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffles, pancakes and a good variety of beverages. The price was comparable to all other area hotels, rather low on Thursday night and about double on Friday but feeding 2 adults and 3 teens made the price far better than some of the other choices. The rooms were also clean and quiet. I would recommend this hotel for those visiting or passing through Mackinaw.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you do not care about getting good service, stay at this hotel. For several years, we have been staying at this hotel in the off season. We mainly stay because it's one of the few hotels open in the winter. When my friend called to make a reservation, she was told that they did not have any regular rooms available (only jacuzzi suites) so I booked through Expedia. When my friend arrived, she was given the third degree about why we booked through Expedia since they had plenty of rooms available. They also said that they would have given us a better rate than Expedia did. She told him what she was told on phone by someone at the hotel. He did not have a comment. There were several hockey teams staying at the hotel so it was a little bit loud. We had a room right by the elevator/stairs. That made it worse. Wouldn't you think that if you had rooms available, you would put us in a room further away from all the hockey teams??? The breakfast, as stated in other reviews is not good. The "pancake" maker that was used as a selling point on the phone (we did not care about it, but it's part of their "stay here because..." speel), was not working while we were there. The woman in the breakfast room was not friendly. Our room was clean and the only relatively friendly employee was the woman from housekeeping. There is a negative feeling at the hotel. Lots of homemade signs saying "don't do this, don't do that". We will definitely be looking for a different hotel to stay at next time we plan a trip to Mackinaw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We came down to the Hamilton Inn for one night with a group of 15 year old hockey players. We came on a bus and they were prepared to attack us as we checked in! They made us all sign a waiver that the kids HAD to be in there rooms at 9:00PM and that they were also not allowed in the pool area after 9:00PM!! We checked in and were charged $30 more then any of the other families in our group! We told them that we had a group rate but they insisted that our room was more because it was a lakeview room! Lakeview room!!!??? It is a view of a white, snow covered field right now!! I don't think we will be using the beach - really!!?? Finally, after some convincing and arguing with the rude and very obnoxious front desk staff, they decided to only charge us $10 more - whatever! I will NEVER stay here again EVER!!!

The front desk staff also failed to tell any of us in our group that if you stay at the Hamilton Inn you have access to an indoor waterpark that is across the street. This really upset me because my 11 year old daughter was also with us and would have enjoyed the waterpark. Just very poor customer service - very sad.

My son and I did decide to go down to the pool area and sorry but the pool area was very, very dirty. Big hairballs in the hot tub and my son actually was hurt in the hot tub on one of the jets that was broken. There was a huge vent that was exposed too and the screen was broken that was supposed to be over it. A little kid could definately fall through!!!

The internet connection in the hotel is totally non-existent, so if you need to do any work, forget it! The breakfast was ok, typical breakfast, nothing special. Rooms at this hotel were just like any other Super8 or Comfort Inn - not great.

Some of the front desk staff in this hotel were very, very rude and very unprofessional. I was also surprised that they weren't wearing any kind of matching t-shirts or uniforms - one front desk lady actually had a t-shirt on that said "Go Jamaica" - very sloppy.

I would NOT stay here again! Just very unprofessional and very rude. There is many, many other places to stay in Mackinaw City that are much nicer then this crabby place. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

On a recent road trip from Wisconsin to Toronto, we did part of the Lake Michigan circle tour. We stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select in Mackinaw City on 10/21/12 because they gave us the best deal when I called about rooms & it looked nice from the road & we liked the location. Check in was very quick & staff were friendly & helpful. Ours was a lakefront room, very clean, comfy bed & it had a fridge which is nice when your road tripping. Found out that more than half of the hotels here are closed at this time of the year, so our choices were limited somewhat. Woke up at 7AM when the nearby ferry boat started it's engines. It left at 7:30 with the 1st load going over to Mackinac Island. It was time to get up & get going anyway & we saw the most beautiful sunrise over the lake at 8:05AM, so we can't complain. Hit the breakfast room next, it's up on the 3rd floor. Thought that was wierd; but it was very spacious & the breakfast selection was ample: biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, canned tropical fruit, waffles, bagels, assorted toast, cereals & the usual. Would stay here again if passing through & would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the way to the upper peninsula for a wintery adventure. Offseason rates are very good and the hotel met my expectations for the price that I paid. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I skipped the breakfast after reading prior reviews, so I can't comment on that. I would stay here again and probably will in February.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Address: 701 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.