We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partial Lake Michigan Circle tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront to your Saves list
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Wautoma
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Partial Lake Michigan Circle tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

On a recent road trip from Wisconsin to Toronto, we did part of the Lake Michigan circle tour. We stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select in Mackinaw City on 10/21/12 because they gave us the best deal when I called about rooms & it looked nice from the road & we liked the location. Check in was very quick & staff were friendly & helpful. Ours was a lakefront room, very clean, comfy bed & it had a fridge which is nice when your road tripping. Found out that more than half of the hotels here are closed at this time of the year, so our choices were limited somewhat. Woke up at 7AM when the nearby ferry boat started it's engines. It left at 7:30 with the 1st load going over to Mackinac Island. It was time to get up & get going anyway & we saw the most beautiful sunrise over the lake at 8:05AM, so we can't complain. Hit the breakfast room next, it's up on the 3rd floor. Thought that was wierd; but it was very spacious & the breakfast selection was ample: biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, canned tropical fruit, waffles, bagels, assorted toast, cereals & the usual. Would stay here again if passing through & would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maralyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Grand Ledge, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the way to the upper peninsula for a wintery adventure. Offseason rates are very good and the hotel met my expectations for the price that I paid. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I skipped the breakfast after reading prior reviews, so I can't comment on that. I would stay here again and probably will in February.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good hotel but update your website people. They offer rooms with one queen bed on their site. In reality these do not exist. All have 2 beds which just take up more room, in an already small room, if you don't need two beds. Also, they show a picture of a girl sitting at their bar enjoying a cocktail. They do not have a bar. Breakfast bar is free and if you like free things then go for it. I decided to go elsewhere and pay for "food" versus getting free "substance" and based on some of the reviews I read I guess I'm not alone on the breakfast bar. It's the only meal this hotel offers so I would have thought they'd put a little more effort into it. Don't get me wrong. I'm not looking for a gourmet 5-star breakfast but you'll see what I mean if you experience it.
Outside if the "breakfast" bar and advertising rooms that don't exist this is actually a great hotel. Really nice and clean. Has a lot of character inside and out. Great location. Friendly staff. I need to give credit where it's due and not just advertise the bad only as most people do. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone...just not the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloverboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms were extreamly clean, comfortable & of good size. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the pool & hot tub. Staff was informative & courteous. We really only had one complaint, the breakfast bar was terrible. It was almost as though the owner went to Aldis and got the cheapest meat & milk they could find, very gamey & Egg's were definately not real. All in all it was very enjoyable & we would definately recommend this hotel & plan to stay again. However, we will be going out for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintersgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Imagine sitting on the sofa in your room and all of a sudden you hear a loud noise, perhaps an explosion, coming from the balcony overlooking the beach. Imagine upon investigating that your doorwall has just shattered with windshield-type shards all over your floor....and you're barefoot! And then just imagine when you call the front desk and they send someone to investigate, insinuating that you're the cause of doorwall exploding. We didn't have to imagine that, as it actually happened. We were not offered another room, not offered our night comped, but we were put out of our room for several hours while they cleaned up the mess, and then came back to no doorwall, an unsecured room until the next day when they replaced the doorwall.

HISB advertises a restaurant and lounge, but you have to walk across the busy street to get to it. Seriously?!

The pool is right off the lobby, affording no privacy. And the breakfast bar didn't change the entire time we were there. If, by chance, you want a waffle, prepare to wait awhile as the throngs descend on the one wafflemaker.

We won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRguy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We break up our pre-Christmas trip from Sault Ste. Marie, Canada to Traverse City with an overnight in Mackinaw City. This time we stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront. Easy check in and out, friendly staff, priveledges at the neighbouring waterkpark replete with sauna (Comfort Suites), predictably awesome breakfast, free wifi and a well appointed and clean room. The pool/hot tub at the Hamilton is open until midnight! A late night soak meant for an even better sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amos111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Outstanding place to stay. For our 50th wedding anniversary our kids and friends gave us a trip to Mackinac Island. We spent one night on the island at the Grand Hotel and two nights at the Hamilton Inn in Mackinac City. We got there early but the room was ready for us. The room was on first floor which was a welcome thing for aged legs. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We opted for the a room with a Jacuzzi and it was wonderful. Breakfast was included and consisted of cereals, donuts, eggs, bacon, biscuits/gravy, juices, coffee and tea and they were all at temperature they were supposed to be. Front desk staff was very efficient and helpful. Parking was close to door and room. Hotel was strategically located. Room keys included discounts to local establishments. There is a large indoor pool with hot tub that we didn't use but lots of people were. It was a really nice getaway and a great place to stay. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicksburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
#4 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#12 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Address: 701 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing