We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay but breakfast bar leaves something to be desired.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront to your Saves list
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay but breakfast bar leaves something to be desired.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were extreamly clean, comfortable & of good size. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the pool & hot tub. Staff was informative & courteous. We really only had one complaint, the breakfast bar was terrible. It was almost as though the owner went to Aldis and got the cheapest meat & milk they could find, very gamey & Egg's were definately not real. All in all it was very enjoyable & we would definately recommend this hotel & plan to stay again. However, we will be going out for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    85
    73
    64
    130
See reviews for
152
137
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Imagine sitting on the sofa in your room and all of a sudden you hear a loud noise, perhaps an explosion, coming from the balcony overlooking the beach. Imagine upon investigating that your doorwall has just shattered with windshield-type shards all over your floor....and you're barefoot! And then just imagine when you call the front desk and they send someone to investigate, insinuating that you're the cause of doorwall exploding. We didn't have to imagine that, as it actually happened. We were not offered another room, not offered our night comped, but we were put out of our room for several hours while they cleaned up the mess, and then came back to no doorwall, an unsecured room until the next day when they replaced the doorwall.

HISB advertises a restaurant and lounge, but you have to walk across the busy street to get to it. Seriously?!

The pool is right off the lobby, affording no privacy. And the breakfast bar didn't change the entire time we were there. If, by chance, you want a waffle, prepare to wait awhile as the throngs descend on the one wafflemaker.

We won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We break up our pre-Christmas trip from Sault Ste. Marie, Canada to Traverse City with an overnight in Mackinaw City. This time we stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront. Easy check in and out, friendly staff, priveledges at the neighbouring waterkpark replete with sauna (Comfort Suites), predictably awesome breakfast, free wifi and a well appointed and clean room. The pool/hot tub at the Hamilton is open until midnight! A late night soak meant for an even better sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Outstanding place to stay. For our 50th wedding anniversary our kids and friends gave us a trip to Mackinac Island. We spent one night on the island at the Grand Hotel and two nights at the Hamilton Inn in Mackinac City. We got there early but the room was ready for us. The room was on first floor which was a welcome thing for aged legs. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We opted for the a room with a Jacuzzi and it was wonderful. Breakfast was included and consisted of cereals, donuts, eggs, bacon, biscuits/gravy, juices, coffee and tea and they were all at temperature they were supposed to be. Front desk staff was very efficient and helpful. Parking was close to door and room. Hotel was strategically located. Room keys included discounts to local establishments. There is a large indoor pool with hot tub that we didn't use but lots of people were. It was a really nice getaway and a great place to stay. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

"Hotel was able to give us an early check in which really helped us out. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was fantastic. Our annual trip to Mackinaw was awesome thank you!"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed recently for five nights at this property. It was certainly adequate. It is a little outdated and worn, but clean. It was fairly comfortable. The rail on the balcony needs help, so don't lean on it. Breakfast was O.K. But the same. If you eat meat, you will get full, but it does not vary. Housekeeping were great, but front desk staff needed some help. We used it as a base to go out n day trips. Be aware, the water parks they advertise are not water parks, so don't get excited, unless you have children. We'd stay again, but, would probably check out other places first.

Room Tip: Get a second story room, water side for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Front Desk associate was so extremely rude it was unbelievable. I have never been treated that way before at a hotel. This person constantly rolled their eyes, was annoyed and made me feel very unwelcome. I can't understand why this hotel would ever hire someone with such poor customer service skills. This situation tells a lot about this hotel if this is the kind of person they want to represent them as you are greeted. The FD associate was horrible and their rudeness bothered me for the remainder of the weekend. It is unfortunate for Hamilton to have such a poorly trained, rude front desk associate, who in my opinion needs to find a job outside of customer service. But considering what I have heard about this money hungry hotel I’m not sure why I was surprised and I should have listened and not went there to begin with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Address: 701 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.