We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, comfortable room with all the little details not in place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Inn - Bridgeside

Save Saved
You added Parkside Inn - Bridgeside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   771 N Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A clean, comfortable room with all the little details not in place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

So the room was nice. Bed was comfy and had a wubby.....just look up the word. The older man at the front desk was more than pleasant. Location was excellent. The basics were in place for a decent hotel stay.
The downers? Pool/hot tub were closed with no notice. I wouldn't have booked here had I known. Needed more pillows. Horrendous breakfast. Coke machine broke. Rooms were locked out second day. Scary elevator.
Just a lot of little things sucked. Some preventable, some not. This place has potential though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    14
    16
    10
See reviews for
33
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent one night at the Parkside Inn, in a modern room adjacent to the Mackinaw bridge ramp. The view was lovely however there was some traffic noise from vehicles driving on to the bridge ramp.
Room was comfortable, but not luxurious, bath towels had a sour odor. Included breakfast was barely adequate with the cheapest little doughnut pastries, cereals, and a boiled egg. These cheap breakfasts, with weak coffee, seem to be endemic at the included breakfasts with many hotels in the touristy areas.

Room Tip: Do not select room next to bridge, further away the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The room was clean and the front desk helpful with questions about the city and the island. Breakfast was not elaborate, but suitable. The pool is in a separate building, so you'll have to walk a very short distance from your room to the pool building, which is in the courtyard.

The hotel is just to the east of the bridge and a very short walk south of the waterfront. The waterfront is occupied by a park. It's a very pretty location, but not suitable for swimming. The water is shallow, but it's a stone beach, not sand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped to break our journey north into Canada. Great location, and indeed - a good view of the bridge. Room was OK - but for a deluxe room, kind of expected more. Older bathroom, and sink did not drain speedily. Breakfast was poor. Coffee was bitter, and the choice minimal, with no option other than spread (i.e. - no butter!) so, we decided to spend some money and go to Darrows instead - a much better option. Not sure I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Parkside calls us at home two days before our stay at the hotel is to begin and tells us our room
is is under construction and will not be finished on time . He offers another room which he says is
a better room but says it will cost us $ 50.00 more. He does not offer a free upgrade even though
it is their fault. He says he will put us up in another hotel The Court Plaza. It is a take it or leave it
offer.To not offer another room at the same price when available is a true sign of their attitude. Their customer does not come first, only their profit. This reservation was made two weeks in advance. Keep this in mind when planning your vacation, avoid an establishment which does not
appreciate its customers .

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

There are TONS of places to pick from in Mackinaw City and reviews are all mixed. We decided on Parkside and could not have been more happy. Every morning the staff was awake, outside, and cleaning something on the hotel property. Inside the rooms, all nooks and crannies were spotless. Rooms were small but we weren't planning on staying in them other than to sleep. The location was perfect to get anywhere on foot (except for crossing the bridge of course). Breakfast was so, so but who cares. The place was just really clean, tidy, and in the right spot. My wife and I and another couple stayed here for 3 nights just for a little get-away and it was great. We will definitely visit the area again and this is right where we will stay. We made it a point to commend the Manager on a job well done. By the way, we went during peak season and rates were acceptable. All around A+++

Room Tip: If you have a preference for a view of the bridge make sure you ask. You could see the bridge from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon,Mi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a room with a nice view of the bridge. The room is one of the cleanest we have ever had in mackinaw. We come here every year. It was a little noise being so close to the bridge. We had a very nice stay.Pool was wonderful. Nice just walking acrossed the street to the park also.

Room Tip: Get the bridge view with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside Inn - Bridgeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Inn - Bridgeside

Address: 771 N Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parkside Inn - Bridgeside 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Bridgeview Inn nestled in Mackinaw's most beautiful location, overlooking the Mackinac Bridge, Lighthouse,Lighthouse Museum, Iron Workers Memorial & Lakeshore Park w/1000ft beach access. Walk to: Fort, Lighthouse, Mackinaw Crossing,restaurants, ferry docks, & free concert & Laser shows. Free hot breakfast served in our Bridge View Room, discount coupons available for Ferry Boats, Attractions, Restaurants & Shops. HDTVs, Largest indoor pool (9ftdeep), spa, guest laundry, fitness & game room. Large family rooms, high speed internet avail. Smoke free property & No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parkside Inn - Bridgeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Mackinaw City
Parkside Hotel Bridgeside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Inn - Bridgeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.