We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore other reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark to your Saves list
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   907 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701 (Formerly Aqua Grand Inn & Waterpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ignore other reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I do not understand all the bad reviews here, but good ones on the chamber of commerce's site. I booked this place for a week. A lakefront room for $69. I was leary because of the bad reviews. Once I was here, I was surprised! It is clean, yes older, but that is what you get in Mackinaw. We went hotel pool hopping ( we have access to 10 other pools, a splash pad, and two small watermarks). Breakfast is next door, but it is literally 20 feet. Yes there is Internet in the room. Great value, good view! Ignore the bad reviews:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    19
    22
    73
See reviews for
85
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Absolutely atrocious!! We went here for our honeymoon and we ended up just driving home rather than spending the night there. First, we upgraded our room on the promise that we'd have a view of the bridge. How cool would a nighttime view of the bridge be?!!? Well, the building next door was perfectly positioned so that only maybe 5 of the rooms at this place could actually see the bridge, and our room was not one of those. Then, when we went up to drop our baggage off, we immediately noticed the curtains were broken and wide open, and there were random strands of hair all over, like on top of the coffee machine. But, we simply needed a place to sleep so we dropped off our baggage and went touring. We got back very late at night and there were bugs EVERYWHERE!! I cannot stress this enough!!! It was sooooo gross. There was a small gap between the door and the doorframe and the lights inside attracted the biggest mass of bugs I have ever seen!!! This was the last straw. I started to make coffee since, after deciding not to stay the night there we wouldn't be able to sleep until 5am, and couldn't even get that small satisfaction from this hotel as there were absolutely no coffee filters. This was late June and we have been trying to contact the manager since then, calling once or twice a week just to be told he will call us back when he was back in, for the purpose of getting the small up charge refunded since the promise of the view of the bridge was a flat out lie. Well, he finally called us back today just to tell us to 'screw off and stop bugging them because we were not getting our money back.’

Room Tip: Want a good room? Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, MI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last minute and had a double queen, courtyard view room. It was OLD, peeling paint and so very outdated. It smelled clean, but wasn't that clean. The beds sucked! We payed a total of $152.00 for one night. Yes this included 5 waterpark passes, (very small water parks), and breakfast for 5 as well. The breakfast was next door at Quality Suites and it was the highlight.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A Sat-Sun night stay cost us 235. Not a bad rate, until we stepped in the room. Decent size, awful smell. The next morning we were itching. BEDBUGS!!!! we have never seen one before, so we
googled an image, and sure enough, we tested positive. Beds were littered with them. Probably the grossest thing ive ever encountered in a hotel.
The water park is not a "water park", but a splash pad. Not bad for under 4. Real big hot tub, just gross clumps of hair and black
grime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Room was filthy; front desk staff was rude and unhelpful. The internet was down for the 3 days I was there and never offered any solution except try to pick up wifi from another hotel...really? REALLY? You advertise free wifi! What a joke. Wish I had read all these other negative reviews before staying there. There are non-chain hotels that are cheaper and much nicer. Never again will I stay at this dump.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was the perfect place for our visit too the Mackinaw area. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. We found the free breakfast to be tasty and have a nice variety. The location was conveniently located to shopping and all the ferry ports. And the price was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When we got to our 3 room family suite we stepped in and were greeted with a horrible smell of b.o. and urine. The floor was tacky and made my family's feet dirty. The windows had not been cleaned (there were face and fingerprints on the inside of the windows). The bathroom floor was dirty and moldy and on the back of the door had dirt smudges and you could tell it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time because in the panes of the door it was caked with dirt. When my sister went into her room to put her stuff down, she ran into three boards sticking out of her bed that were hidden by the bedding. We called the front desk and complained, the manager did come out and fix it a few hours later. Which when we came back to the room and he was cleaning it up, he had left our door open to the outside. Our room also said it'd have a kitchenette, which really it didn't. There was a tiny fridge/freezer in the area of the sink for the bathroom, and a desk with a microwave and coffee pot in a bedroom, and a even smaller fridge in the 3rd bedroom. The one fridge/freezer that could actually hold something ended up freezing all of our drinks and food completely solid. The picture that is located on the site showing the one single picture of what a bedroom would look like is not in the slightest bit even close to what it actually looks like. The bedding is disgusting, which has one of those very old woolly blankets on it that is very worn and had bits of stuff on it. There was no sheets to the beds either. The beds are able to be pushed towards a wall if you like but also they haven't been cleaned under or behind. There were candy wrappers on the floor behind beds and dirt and caulk. The rooms were very dark and though it came with 2 bathrooms, the one bathroom had no water pressure and the other shower when used leaked all over the floor. The maid service is horrible, the maid stood at our door and asked for our trash and gave us bags to put back in the garbage cans. She did no cleaning at all even though we had asked for maid service.

On the site it also mentioned having nice beachfront which you had access to the beach and there was a picture showing the hotel from the water, which they must have edited to not show all the weeds that are on the beachfront to the hotel and the huge blue tube running from the hotel down to Lake Huron. The water also had cement chunks in the shallow area. You are able to see the ferry from the beach and the bridge though. The breakfast that they mention is located at a different hotel that you must walk to. They have an average breakfast bar, but not enough room in the place to handle the 2 hotels that share it. There are about 10 tables with 4 chairs each at them. So our "free" breakfast ended up costing us because we had to go somewhere else to eat because we couldn't even get in the door it was so packed with people. The unlimited access to the on-site pools is a joke. The pool doesn't open until 10am and they close at 10pm. The ONE pool they have is extremely cold, and the small whirlpool/hot tub is not very warm either. Then the other "pool" area has a huge whirlpool which was very warm which was nice and the kiddie splash park the children enjoyed even though that water was very cold and part of it wasn't working. You also can go to some of their "partner" hotels and go to their water parks which is a hassle and they aren't very nice either. Many people we saw at this hotel were trying to go to a different hotel to stay. The t.v.'s that are in the rooms also don't have much selection as to what to watch, especially for kids.

Overall this was the WORST place I have ever stayed at. I have stayed at several different hotels and I will NEVER go back to this one. If you do decide to go to this one, plan on having to go to all the other hotels to be able to do anything. Not once did I see a spa or sauna which is listed in the amenities. This place was a joke. Also, the SUPER SAVINGS DISCOUNT that is said you will receive, doesn't exist...

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark

Address: 907 South Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701 (Formerly Aqua Grand Inn & Waterpark)
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark Hotel Mackinaw City
Fairview Beachfront Inn And Waterpark
Aqua Grand Hotel Waterpark
Aqua Grand Motel Waterpark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.