We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger boat = less bumps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry

Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry
801 S. Huron, Mackinaw City Dock, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
+1 800-542-8528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Activities in Mackinaw City
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best Mackinac Island Ferry prices! Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry offers on-board restrooms, handicapped friendly aisles & the largest seating capacities. No reservations needed...Purchase your tickets at the dock & come aboard! Your next adventure awaits.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bigger boat = less bumps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are like me and tend to have motion sickness, I have found the Arnold Transit to be the smoother ride to the island. The others are fine, but smaller, and days Huron is rough, you can bounce around a lot. Small kids might like that, though. The Arnold is also 3 levels, to give to you the choice of being enclosed, on top with the wind, or second floor more of a view, with open seating in the back and closed in towards the front. Bigger ferry's also mean getting more people back and forth and less concern of will the ferry fill, and will I be able to get on this one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    77
    20
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copper Country, MI
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Always a good trip with Arnold Line!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Sure all the ferry services offer the same thing - a trip to Mackinac Island, but Arnold has always given us a clean boat, friendly service, and problem-free trip to the island and back. Plus our Chihuahua likes Arnold.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It's always a pleasure. We love all of our passengers, especially the furry ones!

Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, MI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Arnold's Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

All 3 pretty much are the same cost but we had a $3 off coupon pp for Arnold's so used that mode of transportation. Very clean, fast and friendly, courteous staff. This advertises as the only ferry witih on board bathrooms which may be important to some. I believe it was just an 18 minute ride to the island. Would definitely use Arnold's again unless I had a coupon for one of the others.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip. No need to ride with anyone else, we always accept competitor coupons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parchment, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Ride...Customer Service lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Maybe it was because it was a windy, rainy day, but going and returning from the Island must have made the staff cranky. None of the staff smiled, thanked us for traveling with them or hardly acknowledged there were any passengers on board. We all have bad days, but let's not take out on everybody.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We truly value the opinions of our customers and apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Courtesy & friendliness is the cornerstone of customer service, which is of the utmost importance here at Arnold Transit. I am so sorry that the staff did not make you feel like the important customer that you are to us and hope that you will give us the opportunity next time to prove that this is not the "norm" at Arnold Transit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Quick, fast trip for less $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My 12 yo nephew did research on all the ferry services before we left for our daytrip. This was the least expensive $15 vs $25. Since there were 7 of us, we opted to go for the cheaper price. We happened to travel on one of the anniversary days and got our fairs for $13.50. Score!

While we were waiting at the dock, they had a beanbag game going to keep the kids entertained. My 9 yo niece won a poster, but some others won puzzles.

The boarding was quick and efficient. Plenty of spots for everyone. Friendly staff. We rode the catamaran on the way there and back. If you want bridge views, sit up top and on the left side (reverse on the way back). Got there quickly.

On the way back, we sat on the second level in the back. That was quite a bit windier.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We're glad you were able to join us for our 135th Anniversary celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.