We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, fast trip for less $” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry

Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry
801 S. Huron, Mackinaw City Dock, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
+1 800-542-8528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Activities in Mackinaw City
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best Mackinac Island Ferry prices! Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry offers on-board restrooms, handicapped friendly aisles & the largest seating capacities. No reservations needed...Purchase your tickets at the dock & come aboard! Your next adventure awaits.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Quick, fast trip for less $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My 12 yo nephew did research on all the ferry services before we left for our daytrip. This was the least expensive $15 vs $25. Since there were 7 of us, we opted to go for the cheaper price. We happened to travel on one of the anniversary days and got our fairs for $13.50. Score!

While we were waiting at the dock, they had a beanbag game going to keep the kids entertained. My 9 yo niece won a poster, but some others won puzzles.

The boarding was quick and efficient. Plenty of spots for everyone. Friendly staff. We rode the catamaran on the way there and back. If you want bridge views, sit up top and on the left side (reverse on the way back). Got there quickly.

On the way back, we sat on the second level in the back. That was quite a bit windier.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We're glad you were able to join us for our 135th Anniversary celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    77
    20
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MO
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Couldn't imagine any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We found this ferry first, so we took it. The staff greeted us cordially and sped the processing of car, baggage, and us. On time departures. Fast transit (under bridge on outgoing leg). Valet car at the end of the dock for speedy departure. You've got my recommendation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Excellent news! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take pride in providing outstanding customer service. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure/never a disappointment ... and FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've traveled over to the island more than once with Arnold's ... this past August, 2013 was rather exceptional ... we "got lucky" and went on the day they were celebrating a milestone anniversary and had an incredibly low price for ferrying over/back to the island. They were simply "passing along" a nice perk or a thank you to their customers as they celebrated a milestone anniversary. They are always nice, professional, and accomodating with a great location right downtown in St. Ignace (we stay in St.Ignace/not M.City)...this time we simply walked across the street and boarded - fabulous! Thank you Arnold's...see you next time! Skip Shepler/Star...travel with Arnold!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy our anniversary special! 135 years of safely transporting Mackinac Island visitors is certainly an honor and a privilege! Thanks so much for choosing Arnold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ride the classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you get a chance, ride the classic ferry! It took a little longer but who cares when you can have an adult beverage, yes! They served beer at an affordable price. It was a beautiful day and a smooth ride over. Friendly staff and service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Smooth beers for smooth sailing was a new addition on the classics. Thanks for sharing your experience and for choosing Arnold. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great ferry ride from Mackinaw City to Mackinac Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Got to the terminal at 9:20am and boarded the 9:30am ferry just in time to depart. We went under the Mackinac bridge and the captain told us a lot of interesting facts about the structure. I don't think all of the trips include this feature. Everyone was pleasant and the ferries left on time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
The bridge excursions have been a hit with island visitors this summer. It's an amazing new perspective for sure. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold Mackinac Island Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.