We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Educational Sunset Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company

Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company
229 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
+1 231-436-5094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Activities in Mackinaw City
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ugly Anne is in the water and ready to start the 2014 season. We will open on May 22nd and will have a daily 5pm history cruise and sunset cruise both going under the the magnificent Mackinac Bridge and departing from Mackinaw City through October 12th . Tours from Mackinac Island will be scheduled this year by charter only. Feel free to call or email us with any questions.
Brownstown Twp, MI
1 review
“Beautiful, Educational Sunset Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful sunset tour. This was a once in a lifetime fun and educational tour.!!! I learned many things about the bridge, the islands , the Great Lakes and the Straits. from our tour guide We brought our 4 children and all were engaged in the history of the bridge and its majesty. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating to our needs. We recommend this tour to anyone in the area. It was the best part of Mackinac City!!! The rest of the town was a tourist trap. Thanks to the staff of the Ugly Anne. We will never forget this tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    2
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As a traveler that has been over the Mackinac Bridge several times, this was such a neat perspective on the bridge! My husband and I absolutely loved this tour. This family operated company is absolutely fantastic and the family is so helpful and full of information. It was a fairly rough day when we decided to go out and luckily Chris was still willing to take the boat out for us. It was quite an adventure traveling through all of the huge waves, and the tour information was very interesting. I have been to Mackinaw City and Mackinac Island many times as a child and have always wanted just a little bit more information, and this really helped! We had a great time and want to thank Ugly Anne tours for a wonderful adventure! I'm very glad that I found these reviews on tripadvisor and insisted that we go on this tour!! :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mecosta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our group of four went on the Ugly Anne tourboat on Labor Day 2012. We tried to go last year, but the trip was cancelled due to high winds. I have no idea why Searcher1316 thought the boat was ugly or apprehensive about the tour...the boat is freshly painted, very clean, safe, and comfortable to ride in. This is a family-owned operation; the mom sells the tickets, the dad is the tourguide, and the adult son is the captain and everyone is very friendly and wants you to have a great experience. Our tour under the bridge was incredible. I've lived in Michigan my entire life and didn't know all this information about the bridge Our tourguide individually showed us a map depicting the depths of the water in the Straits and much history about the building of the bridge and the area. There is also a video shown onboard for those wanting more information. This tour is well worth going on!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

When we first bought our tickets we had no idea what we were getting into. We went to the dock to redeem our tickets we were scared about what we had gotten ourselves into we had our first glance at ugly Ann and it was ugly. Once we got the back story about the boat and started the tour it was amazing we felt like the staff engaged with us on a personal level they offered drinks it was a very enjoyable experience and would definitely do it again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended! Sign up for this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went out on both the bridge cruise and the sunset cruise. Words can't describe the awesomeness and magnificence of floating under the Mackinaw Bridge in a "'small" boat. The weather cooperated and the boat was not so full that we couldn't move around and stretch a little. The Sunset Cruise also lived up to it's expectations. Perhaps they should change the name to the "Romantic Sunset Cruise" as it was a couples cruise the time we went out. Actually got a bright and full sunset although again it was the ride in a small boat out on the Straits that was the attraction. Heard about the company in a feature article in our local paper and it exceeded our expectations. The ongoing narration was interesting and informative, especially the numerous and wide variety of shipwrecks which litter the straits. The narration is only done during the day. Music is played during the sunset cruise. Take both tours - they are well worth your time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.